Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
This was a good basic recipe but I did change a few things. First of all, I never, EVER boil a chicken. That's the quickest way of drying it out. Although it takes longer, I roast my chicken the day before, shred the meat and then make my stock with the bones. I placed my vegies into a clean pot with oil and sauteed. I then added flour to make a roux, so that I wouldn't have to thicken later on. After simmering the stew I made my own dumplings using buttermilk and eggs mixed together and then folded the liquid into the self rising flour. The folding process kept the dumplings light and airy. Just before I placed the dumplings into the stew I added my meat back in. This was so comforting and the gang absolutely loved it on yet another snowy N.J. spring? day. Thank you Karena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
472 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I think this makes a good "base" for chicken and dumplings. It was very good, but I did make several changes, which I know changes the whole recipe. Instead of using canned stock, I made my own by adding water enough to cover the chicken in the pot. I also added a few whole peeled potatoes, some peeled carrots, a whole peeled onion and a few pieces of whole peeled celery. When my stock was done I disgarded the veggies (I just don't think they belong in chicken and dumplings, but they give an EXCELLENT flavor). Then I went on making my stew as directed. I also made one mistake, which was my own fault of course. Instead of making my own dumplings I bought frozen ones, something I will never do again..nothing like making your own (smile) Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This tasted so good!! I have tried other dumpling recipies and this is the first that has turned out. I used half the amount of chicken, salted butter and about 1/2 tsp dried parsley. I didn't understand what veggie liquid is. I just left the veggies and chicken in, took out the dumplings, and added the water/flour mixture. I LOVED this and my picky 2 year old even ate the dumpling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I thought this was good and easy. Most dumpling recipes are too salty this one is not. But when making the gravy it says to add remaining flour, what remaining flour? I used it all for the dumplings, not a big problem I just used 1/2 cup more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
My Family really enjoyed this wonderful meal, I added Two chopped med. sized carrots which brought out more color and flavor. I'm sure going to make this agian. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kimbernic
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
FINALLY a good chicken & dumplings recipe! This is the 4th one I tried. I was let down by the shortcut recipes that use canned soups and biscuits. My family loved this recipe. I cut the recipe down to 8 servings. I used chicken thighs with the bones and skin because it really adds good flavor. I followed the recipe except I did not have fresh parsley so I used dried. The conversion rate is for every 3 teaspoons of fresh herbs you will use 1 teaspoon dry. One reviewer said the dumplings were dry. I made several size dumplings and found if too large the middles tend to be dry. The perfect size seemed to be a spoonful about the size of a small walnut. My family loves dumplings so I made extra. The dumplings use the broth so the more dumplings the less broth left for your gravy. Next time I will use more broth to start. At this point you will take out the dumplings and chicken. I pulled apart my chicken, removed the bones and skin and returned the chicken to the pot. When it says to press out the “veggie liquid” that means to strain your juices with a strainer then press the onions and celery in the strainer so you don’t have large hunks in your gravy but still have the juices and flavor from them, then dispose of the remnants from the strainer. The recipe did not designate how much flour to add to thicken the broth to gravy. I just went a tablespoon at a time and whisked it in and waited a minute and repeated till it thickened up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimbernic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
I love dumplings...I don't know why. This is a good recipe. I make this often. want to remind everyone that recipes are not set in stone especially soup recipes. Feel free to add or remove vegtables that YOU like. Have fun cooking and enjoy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I actually used a bit over four pounds of chicken. It turned out great! I'm not sure if it's the addition of baking powder or unsalted butter in the dumplings, but these were the best I've tried. It was added to my recipe box and will get a lot of attention in my house. Very, very good! Enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2000
The dumplings got to be a little dry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
if not overcooked very good and moist, reminds me of the kind that i used to get WAy down south!!! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States