Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Wonderful basic recipe. MUCH better then anything with canned soups!!!!!!! I added a few more things garlic, sage, thyme, carrots & peas.. GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Like a few others' said, good base recipe. I tweaked it quite a bit. Added a bay leaf and some poultry seasoning for flavor, added more salt. Added some carrots and more celery. I added way more broth. Also, the dumpling mix is great, but I would suggest making the dumplings smaller than this recipe calls for. The middle of the dumplings turned out kind of dry and I think that could be avoided by making the dumplings smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I followed the recipe as close as I could. Pros: Overall recipe was tasty and not over done, would make again with changes Cons: Recipe was unclear at times, took far too long to make, complicated, too much chicken, too few dumplings, dumplings deteriorated in cooking pot. Changes I would make: Double dumpling recipe, reduce amount of chicken, use canned stock instead of home made stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This dish reminds me so much of my mama (the only grandparent I met.) She used to make this all the time when we'd come over and I loved it. This is the closest recipe to hers I've found and we all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
The dumplings were so good, just how I like them. I went crazy & added a bit of thinly chopped green onion in the dumpling mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zackiepoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Changed it up a little because I started by making it a chicken/leftover-turkey dumpling project. I used chicken broth and used my leftover turkey gravy as well. And as others did I added two full carrots. My family agreed they liked the addition of the carrots. Dumplings were perfect. Just remember that lid on the simmer the last ten minutes. Two family members took on bowls for lunches tomorrow. Still stuck on the perfect complement side dish. thinking maybe cucumber salad or a dessert dish of vegetable jello with lime. Topped with off with gourmet coffees, not or cold. Our family and friends loved it and we joined in to creat it. Cooking should be fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty & Terry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosamond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
One of my favorite recipes. My husband said it was just what he needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I spent lot of time looking for a Dumpling Recipe that I remember Mom making. Hers were the fluffy ones...not the rolled out ones. I know she sometimes used baking mix from the store but I had none. These were delicious, tender and fluffy. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I don't think that the ingredients were in the right proportions for the dumplings. I measure exactly in all my recipes. I had a hard time getting the dough to come together and knew they were not going to have the right texture for old fashioned dumplings. They were way too coarse and firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
I was looking for a recipe like my mother's & this was it. Made my own stock w/the chicken, onions & celery ahead of time & cooled, removed fat & deboned. Scooped celery and onions out & added fresh. Simmered all together, adding baby carrots & frozen green beans. Did not make gravy ~ doesn't need it. Dumplings were delicious & family loved. This one's a keeper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States