Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I liked this recipe and would make it again. I love that all the ingredients are ones I'm likely to have on hand. I didn't have enough broth, so I subbed in a can of cream of chicken and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Outstanding.. so good... we have prepared this several times... and it is always gone.... fast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Fantastic! Made the recipe as is. Substituted bisquickoven-made biscuits for the dumplings, put them in with the gravy after prep. Hubby loved it! Will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Wonderful basic recipe. MUCH better then anything with canned soups!!!!!!! I added a few more things garlic, sage, thyme, carrots & peas.. GREAT recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
Like a few others' said, good base recipe. I tweaked it quite a bit. Added a bay leaf and some poultry seasoning for flavor, added more salt. Added some carrots and more celery. I added way more broth. Also, the dumpling mix is great, but I would suggest making the dumplings smaller than this recipe calls for. The middle of the dumplings turned out kind of dry and I think that could be avoided by making the dumplings smaller.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I followed the recipe as close as I could. Pros: Overall recipe was tasty and not over done, would make again with changes Cons: Recipe was unclear at times, took far too long to make, complicated, too much chicken, too few dumplings, dumplings deteriorated in cooking pot. Changes I would make: Double dumpling recipe, reduce amount of chicken, use canned stock instead of home made stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This dish reminds me so much of my mama (the only grandparent I met.) She used to make this all the time when we'd come over and I loved it. This is the closest recipe to hers I've found and we all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smoaks, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Walterboro, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
The dumplings were so good, just how I like them. I went crazy & added a bit of thinly chopped green onion in the dumpling mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zackiepoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Changed it up a little because I started by making it a chicken/leftover-turkey dumpling project. I used chicken broth and used my leftover turkey gravy as well. And as others did I added two full carrots. My family agreed they liked the addition of the carrots. Dumplings were perfect. Just remember that lid on the simmer the last ten minutes. Two family members took on bowls for lunches tomorrow. Still stuck on the perfect complement side dish. thinking maybe cucumber salad or a dessert dish of vegetable jello with lime. Topped with off with gourmet coffees, not or cold. Our family and friends loved it and we joined in to creat it. Cooking should be fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty & Terry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rosamond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
One of my favorite recipes. My husband said it was just what he needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States