Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
My Family really enjoyed this wonderful meal, I added Two chopped med. sized carrots which brought out more color and flavor. I'm sure going to make this agian. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This tasted so good!! I have tried other dumpling recipies and this is the first that has turned out. I used half the amount of chicken, salted butter and about 1/2 tsp dried parsley. I didn't understand what veggie liquid is. I just left the veggies and chicken in, took out the dumplings, and added the water/flour mixture. I LOVED this and my picky 2 year old even ate the dumpling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I actually used a bit over four pounds of chicken. It turned out great! I'm not sure if it's the addition of baking powder or unsalted butter in the dumplings, but these were the best I've tried. It was added to my recipe box and will get a lot of attention in my house. Very, very good! Enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Good and easy. I added two 10oz cans of cream of mushroom condensed soup to give it a little thickness. My family enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by michellej
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
One reveiwer said she never boils her chicken because it drys it out. Well I boil chicken for chicken soup, and chicken and dumplings all the time and it is never dry. I boil the heck out of it too so that I can get the bone marrow for stock. In this recipe I brought my whole chicken to a boil and then simmered it for 3 1/2 hours. I had onion, celery, and carrots in the broth which I strained off and saved the meat and broth. I added fresh chopped celery and carrot along with the tender meat, brought to a slow boil and added the dumpling mix, which I prepared without the egg. It was the bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Y-U-M-M-Y!! I did boil the chicken and it wasn’t dry at all. I put in carrots, onions, and celery in the pot without cooking them first. I forgot the butter in the dumplings and I rolled them and dropped them into the pot… The recipe didn’t say how much flour to use for step 2 an how much to leave for step 3 which caused me to dump in all of it in step 2 and having to add to stock to thicken in step 3 but only at a spoon full at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aWe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
I tried it and loved it. I usually make chicken pastry. This was similar, but different enough to make instead of pastry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
Being a Mexican cook I always feared cooking this dish but my partner talked me into it and boy am I happy. I used my own homemade stock (heavy on veggies, garlic, and spices) and used whole wheat flour to make it healthier and I couldn't believe what I had been missing. This shall now be a fixture in my home cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe was so AWESOME! I made just a few changes - added an additional 2 cups of water along with a T. of chicken bullion (for richer flavor) and doubled the dumpling recipe. This is a DEFINATE keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States