Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I think the portions are way off on this. 7lbs. of chicken and 6 dumplings will feed 20 people? I added carrots for color and flavor, and left all the veggies in. My Mom used to add peas at the end too. The color makes it more appetizing. Good dumplings! Simmered dumplings for 10 minutes uncovered, and then 10 minutes covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
The recipe says to make dumplings in 6 large spoonfuls. I don't understand. 6 dumplings for 20 servings? I am anxious to try this because it sounds delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I played with this recipe quite a bit, but it's a good basic place to start. I made a small batch, using one giant chicken breast, and made it with a little more liquid than the cut-down recipe suggested. I did not remove the vegetables and instead pureed the stock with an immersion blender before adding any flour to thicken. Instead of milk I used heavy cream in the dumplings (because I needed to use it up) and also added some extra cream to the stock for extra creaminess. Also I made small, walnut sized dumplings rather than large ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAT772

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
The flavor was great. I roasted my chicken first like one reviewer. BUT!!! I didn't watch the video I just followed the recipe. I added all the flour to the dumplings because it never specified how much!! I knew they were too dry. Then I read that some flour was to go into the gravy. Once again..it doesn't say how much! Should have used Bisquick for goodness sakes! And it would never serve 20!! What the heck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Great recipe! I scaled this down to a family of three and still had leftovers. I just swamped everything for boneless so we didn't have to pick those out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Riemer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is a great recipe, I did put my own twist on it. I seared my chicken first then added my chicken stock and veggies and baked instead of boiling the chicken. This gave it color and more flavor. I also added rosemary and thyme. Then followed the rest of the original recipe . It tured out amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I tried this, it was my first time making home made dumplings, Turned out ok, they were not quite as fluffy as I would have liked. I had to add additional milk & flour to thicken the gravy. I would try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I was just wondering about steps 2 (making the dumplings) and 3 (making the gravy). It never says how much flour for each step. I just added all the flour to the dumplings, then got to the gravy section and found out that there was supposed to be 'remaining flour' for that step. I'll make a rue myself, but hopefully the dumplings won't be too tough... :-/ I'll edit my review when we've eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Finally tried this recipe, but changed just a little. Made my own stock. 2 quarts of water, 2 tablespoons of Knorr chicken bouillon, bag of baby carrots, 4 stalks of celery, and 1 small onion all roughly chopped, salt and pepper and garlic powder. Combine all with chicken (thighs)in stock pot and cook till chicken is done. Taste to see if seasoning needs to be adjusted. For the gravy mixed 1/2 cup of flour with 1/4 cup of evaporated milk pour slur into chicken and dumplings (I did not remove chicken and dumpling per directions). VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Excellent! Rather than using pre-made stock I made some with onion, carrots, garlic powder, celery seed and salt and pepper as I boiled the chicken. Added some mushrooms and zucchini after about 45 minutes. We don't really care for parsley so I used thyme in the biscuits instead. I saved all the veggies when I pulled out the chicken and biscuits to make the gravy, which was outstanding. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States