Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
we all loved it at home, it wasn't hard at all, I made my own modifications of course, I had cauliflower so I chopped up some and added it to the mix, then when I strained the veggies I just couldn't bring myself to throwing them away so of course I pureed them and put them back to the soup, I also added mushrooms, just because I add mushrooms to everything, oh and when I didn't like the color of the soup I added turmeric, it added a nice color and flavor.. the dumplings were a bit dry but everybody else loved them, though I vowed to find a way to make them better all in all, it was great and my familly voted to have it as a regular meal, thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Chicken and gravy--EXCELLENT! Dumplings--Thumbs down... Would be delicious over fresh steamed rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
It does not tell you to divide the flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
The recipe tastes wonderful. However the written directions aren't complete. Make sure you watch the video.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
My new go-to recipe for dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shareasmiletoday

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
I think the portions are way off on this. 7lbs. of chicken and 6 dumplings will feed 20 people? I added carrots for color and flavor, and left all the veggies in. My Mom used to add peas at the end too. The color makes it more appetizing. Good dumplings! Simmered dumplings for 10 minutes uncovered, and then 10 minutes covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
If you want EASY chicken and dumplings, don't make dumplings from scratch! I do the same recipe with the exception of this: just buy canned refrigerator biscuits, cut into small pieces, add to boiling stock and liquid, and cook for about 20 minutes. So delicious and so easy! Now THAT is EASY chicken and dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
The recipe says to make dumplings in 6 large spoonfuls. I don't understand. 6 dumplings for 20 servings? I am anxious to try this because it sounds delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I played with this recipe quite a bit, but it's a good basic place to start. I made a small batch, using one giant chicken breast, and made it with a little more liquid than the cut-down recipe suggested. I did not remove the vegetables and instead pureed the stock with an immersion blender before adding any flour to thicken. Instead of milk I used heavy cream in the dumplings (because I needed to use it up) and also added some extra cream to the stock for extra creaminess. Also I made small, walnut sized dumplings rather than large ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAT772

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States