Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Finally tried this recipe, but changed just a little. Made my own stock. 2 quarts of water, 2 tablespoons of Knorr chicken bouillon, bag of baby carrots, 4 stalks of celery, and 1 small onion all roughly chopped, salt and pepper and garlic powder. Combine all with chicken (thighs)in stock pot and cook till chicken is done. Taste to see if seasoning needs to be adjusted. For the gravy mixed 1/2 cup of flour with 1/4 cup of evaporated milk pour slur into chicken and dumplings (I did not remove chicken and dumpling per directions). VERY GOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Excellent! Rather than using pre-made stock I made some with onion, carrots, garlic powder, celery seed and salt and pepper as I boiled the chicken. Added some mushrooms and zucchini after about 45 minutes. We don't really care for parsley so I used thyme in the biscuits instead. I saved all the veggies when I pulled out the chicken and biscuits to make the gravy, which was outstanding. Can't wait to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Used a different dumpling recipe and left the veggies in. This was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MealerMom
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Absolutely delicious! I only used about 3 pounds of chicken breast and left all other measurements the same. I made my own chicken broth and spiced it the way I wanted to. on the confusion about the flour I used about 1 Cup and 2 teaspoons in the biscuits used 1/2 a cup for the gravy.. also instead of the traditional carrots and celery I used 1 large potato and about 3 oz of mushrooms..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
This recipe is really great on a cold snowy day. Definitely comfort food! But the recipe should indicate in the ingredients section that the 1 1/2 cups of flour is divided. 1 1/4 cup for the dumplings and the remaining 1/4 cup for the gravy!!!!! I think many people used the full 1 1/2 cups of flour for the dumplings, NOT GOOD!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I have been trying for the longest time to remember how my mother made chicken&dumplings and this recipe filled in a lot of blanks. The only difference was my mother browned her chicken a little then added her onions, garlic, celery and carrots and then water (we are talking about many years ago. Then the roaster went into the oven. The smell drove me crazy. When chicken was cooked, dumplings were added and this was cooked on the top of the stove. Dumplings and chicken were removed from roaster. Gravy was then made. Complete withe vegetables. We always had mashed potatoes with this dish. There was never any left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Everyone loved it! I added carrots and some seasonings and cornstarch to thicken it and lots of dumplings. Success!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I Just made this recipe. Came out wonderful! I did embellish it, so I can't say how the original unadulterated version would turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
I really was feeling for some Chicken and Dumplings, but I've never made them before! I just used this as a base recipe because I used the ingredients I already had on hand instead of going to the store. I used a mixed vegetable blend that included green beans and cauliflower and frozen pre-diced chicken breast. I've never heard of a condensed chicken mushroom soup so I just used condensed chicken. I threw all this in some seasonings. The dumplings are in now...I've already tasted the soup part and its SOOO good. .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I made the dumplings in this recipe. After reading the reviews and reading the recipe it looks like a step was left out. The recipe does not say how much flour to reserve. Based on other recipes I would say 1/2 cup for the broth and 1 cup for the dumplings. Those that are saying it is crumbly likely used the whole 1 1/2 cups of flour. If you cut the flour in the dumplings they should not be crumbly or dry. For the poster who said boiling chicken results in dry chicken. Dry chicken is a result of over cooking not the method of cooking. Roasting a chicken can result in a dry chicken if you roast it too long. I know because I have done that in the past. Now for the recipe. Basically I am only reviewing the dumplings as I already have my own chicken stew recipe. I gave the recipe 4 stars primarily because one step is left out making the recipe confusing. I did make a change as my son has dairy allergies. I used chicken broth instead of milk. As my son can tolerate butter I used that. Next time I plan on using solid chicken from making broth. I will have to remember to save it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States