Old-Fashioned Chicken And Slick Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
I left out the sweet potatoes and increased the white potatoes and carrots. (Personal preference) The result tasted like a pot pie that I used to get in a Pennsylvania Dutch restaurant when I was a kid. I've been waiting a long time to find a recipe like this. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This review if for the dumplings. They are so easy to make, and tasty too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Thank you!!! I've made chicken & dumplings before & wasn't too impressed with the way the dumplings turned out. Too big & doughy. The dumplings in this recipe were just what I was looking for. I did make a few changes to the recipe though. I omitted the sweet potatoes & celery tops. Used chicken stock instead of water & butter flavored Crisco instead of chicken fat. I added some flour & water to the soup to thinken it up. Came out perfect. Will definately mae this again & again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Finally! Someone who knew what I was talking about when using the term "dumpling". I'm from the south and these are the dumplings my mama made, (though not with chicken fat). Brilliant. And the adding at five minute intervals worked great. No stuck together dumplings, and a little break down to create a lovely sauce. Thanks! I'll try the whole recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Awesome....I did buy store bought flat dumplings....I'm curious how the homemade ones turn out, but I'm too lazy. This was a BIG HIT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Lee Mercer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
this recipe was easy and fun - i really liked the way the dumplings turned out and the addition of sweet potatoes. we also used crisco rather than chicken fat in the dumpling mix, and added some chicken broth to the pot to make up for some of the lost chicken flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is really close to what my family called "Putsins". Thank you so much for this recipe since my grandmother passed away before I was old enough to learn it. I'll be making this for dinner tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Langwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I made this and I have to say, it is quite delicious! But then I looked at the calories and fat. Now, if comfort food that is super yummy is all you're after, that's great! This dish is for you!! But if you are also looking for something delicious AND a bit healthier, this one won't fit the bill. With 1146 calories per serving and over 51 grams of fat, I can't justify this dish in my repertoire (I'm 5' 3" and 108 pounds and 1200 calories is my total allotment for the day, so a serving of this would be all I could eat in a day! haha). Again, I'm not slamming this dish, it really is quite delicious, I'm just making those of you who are a bit more health (and calorie) conscious aware of the nutritional facts for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Everyone loved it. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I don't even have to cook this to give it 5 stars! It's virtually identical to the recipe my family has used for generations - Freddie Bee's Dumplings! She'd roll them out very thin.... The firm texture's not for everybody, but it's the only way to go as far as I'm concerned. The sweet potato is a new addition for me, but I'll sure try it. Thanks for posting -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States