Old-Fashioned Chicken And Slick Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Awesome....I did buy store bought flat dumplings....I'm curious how the homemade ones turn out, but I'm too lazy. This was a BIG HIT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Lee Mercer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Finally! Someone who knew what I was talking about when using the term "dumpling". I'm from the south and these are the dumplings my mama made, (though not with chicken fat). Brilliant. And the adding at five minute intervals worked great. No stuck together dumplings, and a little break down to create a lovely sauce. Thanks! I'll try the whole recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is really close to what my family called "Putsins". Thank you so much for this recipe since my grandmother passed away before I was old enough to learn it. I'll be making this for dinner tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Langwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
THIS was how my mom made her dumplings!!! At first the dumplings puffed up and I was afraid they were "the other kind of dumplings", but they cooked for a while longer and became the flat, slick dumplings I ate when growing up. I didn't add any potatoes (the dumplings are enough starch) and thickened the broth after the dumplings cooked to perfection. I also used Bisquick mix instead of the flour, salt, baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
I was very happy with the way the recipe turned out. Only thing I ommited were the sweet potatoes because I didn't have them on hand. Might try that though I believe carrots and even peas would give it enough richness. My family loved the dumplings. This is my first try making dumplings and they turned out beautifully. Husband said they brought bake great memories when he was a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommaMack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bath, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Thank you!!! I've made chicken & dumplings before & wasn't too impressed with the way the dumplings turned out. Too big & doughy. The dumplings in this recipe were just what I was looking for. I did make a few changes to the recipe though. I omitted the sweet potatoes & celery tops. Used chicken stock instead of water & butter flavored Crisco instead of chicken fat. I added some flour & water to the soup to thinken it up. Came out perfect. Will definately mae this again & again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Noticed that reviewers used "other than" chicken fat. Here's how to get the chicken fat. De-skin then cut up a whole fryer. Put chicken rub on the pieces put them in the dutch oven along with the veggies. It is going to take 8 cups water to cover. Bring to a boil & reduce to medium-high & put a lid on it. Put chicken rub on the skin and place in a skillet over medium heat. Once the skin starts to sizzle, reduce the heat to a simmer and render out the chicken fat. One chicken skin will produce about 1/4 cup fat. Just right for the recipe. Cut up the depleted skin and feed it to your cat. While the skin is rendering get the dry dumpling mix ready. Remove lid from chicken boil & all 4 more cups of water. It cools the chicken enough to fish out the larger bones with a slotted dipper, but will soon return to a boil. Reduce to a medium-low setting. Mix, roll out, cut up & put dumplings in the pot as per recipe. Found that I had to add a lot of salt at the end of the recipe. The potatoes really suck up the seasoning. I know this sounds like a lot but you might have to put almost 1 TBSP more salt in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This review if for the dumplings. They are so easy to make, and tasty too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
This was pretty good. I did cook the dumplings for a little longer though. The next day it was even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
this recipe was easy and fun - i really liked the way the dumplings turned out and the addition of sweet potatoes. we also used crisco rather than chicken fat in the dumpling mix, and added some chicken broth to the pot to make up for some of the lost chicken flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States