Old-Fashioned Chicken And Slick Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Noticed that reviewers used "other than" chicken fat. Here's how to get the chicken fat. De-skin then cut up a whole fryer. Put chicken rub on the pieces put them in the dutch oven along with the veggies. It is going to take 8 cups water to cover. Bring to a boil & reduce to medium-high & put a lid on it. Put chicken rub on the skin and place in a skillet over medium heat. Once the skin starts to sizzle, reduce the heat to a simmer and render out the chicken fat. One chicken skin will produce about 1/4 cup fat. Just right for the recipe. Cut up the depleted skin and feed it to your cat. While the skin is rendering get the dry dumpling mix ready. Remove lid from chicken boil & all 4 more cups of water. It cools the chicken enough to fish out the larger bones with a slotted dipper, but will soon return to a boil. Reduce to a medium-low setting. Mix, roll out, cut up & put dumplings in the pot as per recipe. Found that I had to add a lot of salt at the end of the recipe. The potatoes really suck up the seasoning. I know this sounds like a lot but you might have to put almost 1 TBSP more salt in the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
279 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
this recipe was easy and fun - i really liked the way the dumplings turned out and the addition of sweet potatoes. we also used crisco rather than chicken fat in the dumpling mix, and added some chicken broth to the pot to make up for some of the lost chicken flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
I left out the sweet potatoes and increased the white potatoes and carrots. (Personal preference) The result tasted like a pot pie that I used to get in a Pennsylvania Dutch restaurant when I was a kid. I've been waiting a long time to find a recipe like this. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
THIS was how my mom made her dumplings!!! At first the dumplings puffed up and I was afraid they were "the other kind of dumplings", but they cooked for a while longer and became the flat, slick dumplings I ate when growing up. I didn't add any potatoes (the dumplings are enough starch) and thickened the broth after the dumplings cooked to perfection. I also used Bisquick mix instead of the flour, salt, baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Thank you!!! I've made chicken & dumplings before & wasn't too impressed with the way the dumplings turned out. Too big & doughy. The dumplings in this recipe were just what I was looking for. I did make a few changes to the recipe though. I omitted the sweet potatoes & celery tops. Used chicken stock instead of water & butter flavored Crisco instead of chicken fat. I added some flour & water to the soup to thinken it up. Came out perfect. Will definately mae this again & again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Manassas, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Finally! Someone who knew what I was talking about when using the term "dumpling". I'm from the south and these are the dumplings my mama made, (though not with chicken fat). Brilliant. And the adding at five minute intervals worked great. No stuck together dumplings, and a little break down to create a lovely sauce. Thanks! I'll try the whole recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is really close to what my family called "Putsins". Thank you so much for this recipe since my grandmother passed away before I was old enough to learn it. I'll be making this for dinner tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whitney Langwell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
I thought this recipe was good. I liked the sweet potatoes, which I thought was a bit different. However, I added some chicken broth to give it a little more flavor. And I used Crisco instead of the chicken fat the recipe called for in the dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I made this and I have to say, it is quite delicious! But then I looked at the calories and fat. Now, if comfort food that is super yummy is all you're after, that's great! This dish is for you!! But if you are also looking for something delicious AND a bit healthier, this one won't fit the bill. With 1146 calories per serving and over 51 grams of fat, I can't justify this dish in my repertoire (I'm 5' 3" and 108 pounds and 1200 calories is my total allotment for the day, so a serving of this would be all I could eat in a day! haha). Again, I'm not slamming this dish, it really is quite delicious, I'm just making those of you who are a bit more health (and calorie) conscious aware of the nutritional facts for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Awesome....I did buy store bought flat dumplings....I'm curious how the homemade ones turn out, but I'm too lazy. This was a BIG HIT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy Lee Mercer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States