Old Fashioned Carrot Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Very good. Can be made with half the sugar. The lemon sauce needs more corn starch, a tablespoon at least. Look at another lemon sauce recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by omnivore
Home Town: Greenwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
My mother made a very similar recipe that came from my great aunt Ethel who was born in 1878. There was hardly any instructions on the recipe card and it is steamed in the oven, but no oven temp was mentioned. I use one stock pot surrounded by about 4 C. water, then put pudding into a smaller stock pot, one inside the other, steam at 250 degrees for about 3 hours. It is the most heavenly stuff! You wouldn't think it's rich, but it is. About 3/4 C. per serving is usually enough, and I make extra hard sauce to spoon over it, but without the lemon. Thanks for submitting your version- it will help me to tweak mine. It does make the house smell divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hemet, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
FIVE STARS***** You will NOT be disappointed. This is almost exactly like my late grandmother's recipe, a family favorite for generations now. The only difference is she used brown instead of white sugar and also included 1 cup of grated potatoes, in addition to the carrots. Also, she went a little lighter on the nutmeg and heavier on the cinnamon. She topped it with a hard sauce, with rum. That was made by boiling water and adding it slowly to dry ingredients with whisk. Pour it back into a pan and boil for 3 minutes to thicken. Remove from heat and add butter and 1 T of rum (or other). Specific sauce ingredients: 1/3 c. sugar, 3 tbsp flour, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, 1/2 tsp salt, 3 cups boiling water, 2 tbsp. butter, 1 tbsp rum, brandy, or sherry). Yield 2 cups. YUM! A must serve wintertime treat. I'd be interested to know how you packaged your puddings for gifts -- I'd like to do that this year since I just bought some very cool antique steamed pudding molds on eBay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is the recipe my mother made for Christmas every year. It wouldn't be Christmas without carrot pudding and the delicious lemon sauce over the top. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I am the submitter of this recipe. In response to miniata, I always make mine in 1# coffee cans then just place the plastic lids on and place a bow on top however I like someone else's suggestion to bake them in canning jars. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This is just like my mom's "Christmas Pudding" and is yummy. The only thing I did differently was use a Rum Sauce instead of lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This is very similiar to my great grandparent's recipe. Except they used suet, make sure you order the extra white kidney fat type, instead of shortening. We still make it that way to this day. We also serve it with a butter/rum sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I just made this recipe for a gift for a friend. It turned out wonderfully. I used a roasting pan on the stove top to steam it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This turned out too dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I make this every year & I add about a cup of mixed peel (sometimes called citron), currants & a cup of grated apple. I also use butter & brown sugar & do not add the nuts as my kids did not like them. I add either a 1/3 c of brandy or else a tblsp of brandy/rum flavoring. I steam it for about 3 hrs in jars in my canner. You have to be sure to only fill them 2/3 full as it swells a LOT. It is my fav Xmas gift to give away. I print up the recipe for my vanilla/rum sauce & put it on the jar & add a ribbon. You can pop the whole jar in the microwave to heat it up to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Favorite Old Fashioned Gingerbread

See how to make soft, spicy gingerbread for the holidays.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States