Old Fashioned Caramel Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I made it today and it turned out very liquid and wondering what I did wrong? So help
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ForeverCooking123
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I have tried this recipe twice now. Once chilled as a custard pie, which tasted like a custard brandy snap and was delicious. I received many compliments at a dinner party I took it to. Unfortunately I wasn't able to serve it with cream or ice-cream. I also made it again and decided to use up the 4 egg whites the recipe leaves by making a meringue frosting and toasting it in the oven. This completely changed the recipe in to a caramel meringue pie which is amazing but very very rich. Surprisingly the custard doesn't melt after being in the oven which is helpful. I made my own sweet shortcrust pastry both times. I love how versatile this recipe is as the meringue completely changes it and it can be served both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ForeverCooking123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
This didn't turn out well for me at all. The custard was good, but the caramel picked up all the blackness from the cast iron skillet. If I tried a next time, I'd definitely try the caramel in a heavy saucepan. Very, very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
Saundra, I've been looking for this exact recipe for several years since I lost the one of a good friend of mine. Thanks for sharing it. Leeflea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leaflea51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okolona, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Red Bay, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I grew up on a pie made from a very similar recipe.Maybe a little less sugar. And Mom always made a meringue topping. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
This recipe is very similar to the one my great-grandmother used to make. She added a few pats of butter and a few drops of vanilla extract at the end. Oh, and she put the left over sugar in a cast iron skillet and cooked it in the over for about 35-40 mins at 375. That gave her time to cook the custard. I prefer it topped with a meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
I used this recipe once before, I'm so glad it's here. My brother in law requested a caramel pie like grandma used to make and this was the only recipe i could find. He loved it!! Thanks for sharing it. I'm making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Made this today and when I poured the caramelized sugar syrup, it all broke up into little bits of hard sugar all through the pie. I tried to pick it out the best I could, but some still remained. I'm not sure what I did wrong, but I'm not planning on making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
I thought this was pie was way too sweet, but my husband liked it, so maybe it's just a matter of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
Not that hard to make and really good. I had always wante dot make a caramel pie and this was my first. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Caramel Pecan Pie

See how to make a nutty, buttery pie with a sweet touch of chewy caramel.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States