Old Fashioned Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
My DH is very country and used to homemade gravy. After almost a year of feeding him the packaged gravy I tried this without him realizing it, and it was a HIT! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sami Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I never have made gravy before on my own and now I have. Easy to follow and easy to make. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This recipe was ok, but needed to add a LOT of salt and pepper. I didn't have any problems with the thickening, just could've used a little more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
I love this recipe! I've only made it a few times but my husband always asks "are you going to make 'that good gravy'?" I do add a little Kitchen Bouquet® sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Did not work for me. I used beef broth as another suggested in place of the water. It was not brown in color, didn't thicken and did not taste right no matter how long I let cook or how much pepper I added trying to season. Will keep looking for other recipes to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I have never made gravy before, but it just didn't work. It never got thick and was white like milk. My boys were so hungry and waiting for the gravy my husband and I winged it with using as much drippings we had left from the roast and added some flour. It thickened nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This recipe was confusing and you don't want that when you trying to finish everything and get it on the table. It has the right foundations, but we just had to kind of make it up as we went. Maybe if the cook could have just had better instructions. I am a new cook so it may only be me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This is a good recipe, but it needed some salt and pepper. I used beef stock in place of water for a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
PRETTY GOOD,OMITTED THE MILK AND ADDED CHICKEN STOCK,TO SERVE WITH MY CHICKEN AND MASHED POTATO DINNER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Tasted like pasty water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

Making Turkey Gravy

See the tricks to making smooth, lump-free, savory turkey gravy.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States