Old Fashioned Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
It came out okay, didn't thicken much and was kinda bland. I recommend using more flour and less drippings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Goes great with hamburger Steak, mushrooms, onions, and peppers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
Don't use this recipe! Following the directions and exact proportions . . . the gravy would NOT thicken! Thank goodness I had a couple packets of gravy mix from the grocery store I prepared which saved our dinner. VERY disappointing recipe because from the photo it looked like medium brown gravy mother used to make, but the milk and water together made a white thin mixture and not at all brown or even tan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Been trying to make gravy for a long time. Just tasted like grease and flour. This recipe was excellent! Pic is accurate! Reminded me of how KFC gravy used to be. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This was great! Instead of 2 tablespoons of drippings & 1 cup water, I used 2 cups of strained drippings from a rump roast in my slow cooker. All other ingredients the same. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
First time ever making gravy without going to the store and making it from the pack. This recipe was very easy. I was looking for something that did not require bouille tabs, stock, or any additional ingredients. This was perfect. Adding the salt and pepper in the recipe was well needed. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I am a 16 year old boy and I not only successfully made this gravy I made it easily. Other than the fact that it needs more drippings than called for the recipe is great. I needed something quick and simple for a hamburger steak and this was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chief Chef kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
very nice and is easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akuma
Home Town: Mathiston, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Did not work not impressed at all. May have done something wrong will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I made this today to put over the round steak we cooked in our crock pot.. It turned out wonderful!! The meat was seasoned well, so the gravy turned out well seasoned from using the drippings. I will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

Making Turkey Gravy

See the tricks to making smooth, lump-free, savory turkey gravy.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States