Old Fashioned Brown Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Did not work for me. I used beef broth as another suggested in place of the water. It was not brown in color, didn't thicken and did not taste right no matter how long I let cook or how much pepper I added trying to season. Will keep looking for other recipes to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Recipe Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I have never made gravy before, but it just didn't work. It never got thick and was white like milk. My boys were so hungry and waiting for the gravy my husband and I winged it with using as much drippings we had left from the roast and added some flour. It thickened nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This recipe was confusing and you don't want that when you trying to finish everything and get it on the table. It has the right foundations, but we just had to kind of make it up as we went. Maybe if the cook could have just had better instructions. I am a new cook so it may only be me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
This is a good recipe, but it needed some salt and pepper. I used beef stock in place of water for a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
PRETTY GOOD,OMITTED THE MILK AND ADDED CHICKEN STOCK,TO SERVE WITH MY CHICKEN AND MASHED POTATO DINNER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
Tasted like pasty water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
i've never made gravy from drippings before and this turned out perfect!!! though i didn't measure anything.. i just took all the drippings (beef) and added some flour and a dash of milk. oh, and i added just a bit of beef stock. i had the corn starch ready, but i'm amazed that i didn't even need it! i'm glad that i read the dirctions and decided to wait because it only took about a minute to thicken up. anyway, thanks for posting this, it saved my butt today! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elstilez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This was great traditional gravy, not as thick as I normally like, but was a good quick fix for a mess up. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gingiee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beech Grove, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I made this gravy using drippings from my chuck roast cooked in the crock pot. In order to make a rue with the right consistency, I used at least 6 tablespoons of drippings to the 2 tablespoons of flour. Otherwise, I followed the recipe for milk and water. The gravy cooked and thickened nicely. I'm giving 3 stars only because I was in a hurry, and had I not saved any more drippings than the 2 tablespoons called for in the recipe, I'd have been in trouble!! Will use recipe again, but more drippings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apriltxn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAWARNE
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
I omitted the milk and I used the juice from the chicken instead. Added some oregano, basil and parsley just to get abit of italian taste. My husband really liked it. Went well with mash potatoes and BBQ Chicken. View pic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAWARNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Turkey Gravy

This top-rated turkey gravy always comes out smooth and creamy. No lumps!

Making Turkey Gravy

See the tricks to making smooth, lump-free, savory turkey gravy.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States