Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
The best beef stew I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn_So Cal
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Absolutely delicious!! This was my first attempt at homemade stew and it ROCKED! I followed some of the reviews and floured then pre-browned the meat in order it thicken the stew. I also opted to use celery and omit the corn. It all worked wonderfully! I definitely plan on making this again....my husband is surely hoping I do! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn_So Cal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This tasted just like my mom's stew! I made no changes to this recipe but I did add the cornstarch at the end of cooking time and left the lid off so it would thicken. Great recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
My husband loves this and he's very picky about stews, etc. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Hi, I put this together this morning in the crockpot for our dinner. About 1/2 hour before it was done, I put bisquick dumplings on top. My husband and I really enjoyed this meal. The flavor was great. Had plenty left over to freeze. A fantastic crockpot recipe. Sincerely, Judy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I absolutely loved this recipe and so did my family and friends, so I am making it again today. I followed some other peoples advice and added 2 cup low-sodium beef broth and 1 cup of water instead of the 4 cups of water and also added 1 tbsp of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I haven't made this, but I had to comment, because it's the first time I've seen the combination of bay and allspice in a stew other than in my own stew! I make a traditional stew with these spices. If you don't like this specific recipe, keep the spices in mind for your favorite version of stew, give them a shot- for thirty years I've gotten rave reviews from fiends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Very tasty, was a little too watery. I will try using chicken or beef stock next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is the best Beef Stew I have ever made! My family was equally impressed. Thanks Tara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
A bit potato-heavy. I used 3 and it was plenty. Thickened as she suggested but it needed more. Good flavor and super easy with crock pot. Husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States