Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This is good stew! I used a pinch of dried bay leaves and a little more of all the seasonings and the Worcestershire. Mine was plenty thick, but I left it on low a couple extra hours which made the potatoes super soft - when I stirred it some of them got mashed up and thickened the stew. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I wish I had read these reviews before I made this. Needs a lot of additions to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This was OK but not as good as mine, I use beef broth,(not water)I would add a can of diced tomatoes, and flour & brown the meat first for thickening, I don't think it calls for corn. just carrots, celery, could add green beans and peas, Joyce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Smells great! But tastes really bland. Real disappointment. Recipe needs something!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This tasted just like my mom's stew! I made no changes to this recipe but I did add the cornstarch at the end of cooking time and left the lid off so it would thicken. Great recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
Thanks to the reviewers' comments and the instructions about adding "1 heaping tablespoon of cornstarch. . . " it was pretty easy to see this was soup, not stew. So I made simple changes: use chicken broth, not water, for flavor. Use 2 cups, not 4, to prevent soupiness. Use low sodium broth, to prevent saltiness. Add 1 simple pat of butter on top to add richness and prevent sticking (when it reduces and gets thicker). Problems solved -- basic and pretty yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
I made this for 4 picky and diverse adults, all but one liked it - she doesn't like corn. Her loss. A little too salty - I added 2 beef bouillon cubes and 2 packages of brown gravy mix to thicken and add flavor, so next time will omit salt entirely as I usually do. Left out lemon juice - ick. The only other change that would make it even better is to brown the stew meat first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
Even after reducing, this stew is still very very very wet. It's really more of a beef soup than a stew...Needs more flavour and a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Even after adding the cornstarch I found this more like a chunky beef soup. I added a beef bouillion cube and omitted the extra salt to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
This stew was pretty good but needed better seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States