Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
This is good stew! I used a pinch of dried bay leaves and a little more of all the seasonings and the Worcestershire. Mine was plenty thick, but I left it on low a couple extra hours which made the potatoes super soft - when I stirred it some of them got mashed up and thickened the stew. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovesCheese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
I wish I had read these reviews before I made this. Needs a lot of additions to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This was OK but not as good as mine, I use beef broth,(not water)I would add a can of diced tomatoes, and flour & brown the meat first for thickening, I don't think it calls for corn. just carrots, celery, could add green beans and peas, Joyce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Smells great! But tastes really bland. Real disappointment. Recipe needs something!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This tasted just like my mom's stew! I made no changes to this recipe but I did add the cornstarch at the end of cooking time and left the lid off so it would thicken. Great recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
Thanks to the reviewers' comments and the instructions about adding "1 heaping tablespoon of cornstarch. . . " it was pretty easy to see this was soup, not stew. So I made simple changes: use chicken broth, not water, for flavor. Use 2 cups, not 4, to prevent soupiness. Use low sodium broth, to prevent saltiness. Add 1 simple pat of butter on top to add richness and prevent sticking (when it reduces and gets thicker). Problems solved -- basic and pretty yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
I made this for 4 picky and diverse adults, all but one liked it - she doesn't like corn. Her loss. A little too salty - I added 2 beef bouillon cubes and 2 packages of brown gravy mix to thicken and add flavor, so next time will omit salt entirely as I usually do. Left out lemon juice - ick. The only other change that would make it even better is to brown the stew meat first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
Even after reducing, this stew is still very very very wet. It's really more of a beef soup than a stew...Needs more flavour and a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
Even after adding the cornstarch I found this more like a chunky beef soup. I added a beef bouillion cube and omitted the extra salt to give it more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
This stew was pretty good but needed better seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States