Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
The best beef stew I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
This tasted just like my mom's stew! I made no changes to this recipe but I did add the cornstarch at the end of cooking time and left the lid off so it would thicken. Great recipe, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
My husband loves this and he's very picky about stews, etc. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Hi, I put this together this morning in the crockpot for our dinner. About 1/2 hour before it was done, I put bisquick dumplings on top. My husband and I really enjoyed this meal. The flavor was great. Had plenty left over to freeze. A fantastic crockpot recipe. Sincerely, Judy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I absolutely loved this recipe and so did my family and friends, so I am making it again today. I followed some other peoples advice and added 2 cup low-sodium beef broth and 1 cup of water instead of the 4 cups of water and also added 1 tbsp of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I haven't made this, but I had to comment, because it's the first time I've seen the combination of bay and allspice in a stew other than in my own stew! I make a traditional stew with these spices. If you don't like this specific recipe, keep the spices in mind for your favorite version of stew, give them a shot- for thirty years I've gotten rave reviews from fiends and family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenn_So Cal
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Absolutely delicious!! This was my first attempt at homemade stew and it ROCKED! I followed some of the reviews and floured then pre-browned the meat in order it thicken the stew. I also opted to use celery and omit the corn. It all worked wonderfully! I definitely plan on making this again....my husband is surely hoping I do! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn_So Cal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Very tasty, was a little too watery. I will try using chicken or beef stock next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Belmond, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
A bit potato-heavy. I used 3 and it was plenty. Thickened as she suggested but it needed more. Good flavor and super easy with crock pot. Husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This is the best Beef Stew I have ever made! My family was equally impressed. Thanks Tara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States