Old Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
Thanks to the reviewers' comments and the instructions about adding "1 heaping tablespoon of cornstarch. . . " it was pretty easy to see this was soup, not stew. So I made simple changes: use chicken broth, not water, for flavor. Use 2 cups, not 4, to prevent soupiness. Use low sodium broth, to prevent saltiness. Add 1 simple pat of butter on top to add richness and prevent sticking (when it reduces and gets thicker). Problems solved -- basic and pretty yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
This was OK but not as good as mine, I use beef broth,(not water)I would add a can of diced tomatoes, and flour & brown the meat first for thickening, I don't think it calls for corn. just carrots, celery, could add green beans and peas, Joyce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
Hi, I put this together this morning in the crockpot for our dinner. About 1/2 hour before it was done, I put bisquick dumplings on top. My husband and I really enjoyed this meal. The flavor was great. Had plenty left over to freeze. A fantastic crockpot recipe. Sincerely, Judy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Machesney Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2002
I was looking for something to make one sat morning & i found this. Easy, tasty not really any fuss. Which is what I like. The only real fuss was peeling the potates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This was good, but I did make a few changes. I used 2 cans beef broth and 2 cups of water instead of 4 cups water. I also added a package of au jus gravy mix. This was delicious with the changes; however, it did make it overly salty. Between the broth and the gravy mix, I think the salt can be omitted completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I absolutely loved this recipe and so did my family and friends, so I am making it again today. I followed some other peoples advice and added 2 cup low-sodium beef broth and 1 cup of water instead of the 4 cups of water and also added 1 tbsp of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
YUM! I like the flavor of the 'broth' part...of course I added a little extra of all the spices and it is really nice. My family likes a thick stew so I dredged the beef in flour and browned it, and added some corn starch toward the end. OH! And I was short on time so I made this on the stove instead of the slow cooker. Used half the meat...I really love how the allspice/Worcestershire/sugar/salt/bay leaf flavors the stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
As written I'm not sure about this recipe. I used 2 cups of boiling water with low sodium Sprouts Beef broth in it. Had to add a can of diced tomatoes for added flavor. Only used 3 new potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
This was just okay. It had plenty of veggies and the meat was tender. The only thing that it could have used was thickness. My family thinks stews should be more creamier. I didn't realize this until it was to late.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Mill City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This recipe is flavorless. I followed it exactly, and the result left my daughter (who loves beef stew) asking for something else for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States