Old-Fashioned Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Made this stew because it only has the tomato paste in it and not cans of tomatoes. Thought it would work for my mom who has to watch her acid intake. Turned out great! Will definitely make again, another great recipe for my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
This was good, but felt it was missing something. Need something to give it a little more oomph!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winterset, Iowa, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I enjoyed the beef stew very flavorful, my husband lked it. I slow cooked for 8 hrs. On low, the meat I used 2 pounds of top sirloin steak which I put in flour, salt & pepper to season then put in pot whole. Sautéed the onion & mushroom and layed on top of mea then added the rest of the ingredients. I did change out the green bean to chopped celery. After the meal was ready it had the gravy look, but I add a beef bouillon for more flavor. I took the meat out which the meat was falling a part, I shredded the meat then put it back in pot. I would make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
This stew was very good but it did not make enough gravy for my taste so I added a jar of beef gravy and 1/2 package of beef stew seasoning and it was delicious. Also the beans were still a bit too hard - 15 minutes was not enough cooking time - I cooked the carrots, potatoes and beans about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
I made this tonight and it was the best stew that I have had (and made) in a long time. The only changes I made was adding extra garlic and cooking it in my crock pot. So simple but all the flavors meld beautifully. Looking forward to leftovers for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I made this for Sunday night supper and it was so delicious! Hubby had seconds!! Great recipe. The small change I made was de-glazing the pan after browning the meat with beef stock and a bit of merlot. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
OMG! I made this today and it is fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I prepared this for supper tonight and it turned out fabulous. My girlfriend thought it was the best beef stew she had ever eaten. I did add a 1/2 tsp of cayenne pepper to give it a little kick and substituted cauliflower for the potatoes. Will definitely make this again. Will take photo next time before eating it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I tryed this recipe omitted green beans and added green peppers and chopped celery a pinch of rosemary and a dash of sea salt and fresh ground pepper to the recipe had to adjust cooking times to make carrots potatos and celery more tender was awesome !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
It was wonderful! Made some minor changes. Only used a cup of carrots and added one more potato. Added a teaspoon of cumin. Cooked the potatoes and carrots longer and added canned beans 20 minutes before adding cornstarch. Can't say enough on how good it was though. Still needed to cook the vegetables a little longer though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States