Old Fashioned Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
EXCELLENT! I followed the recipe exactly using 6 Granny Smith apples. I was looking for an apple pie that had a more cinnamon taste than caramel. This was perfect. Hubby declared it "EXCELLENT". It did take a little longer to bake as I turned the oven down to 275. I feel that 300 would have been better. Thank you Arletta for sharing this EXCELLENT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I'm getting ready to make another one of these pies I change the apples up to what ever I can get from the local orchards but it's the same great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Boston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
I used my own lard crust for this recipie, and the filling was delicious! I used about 6 or 7 small macintosh apples, and my boyfriend is in the process of eating it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This pie is just like Grandma used to make. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This is a very classic apple pie that is excellent! Just the right seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Durham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Was so easy to make for a first time pie attempt.. thanks so much for posting.. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nosturtle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I made three of these at once for Mothers Day gifts, mostly because I wanted to use my entire pound of lard at once, which makes 3 double crusted pies. To ensure it was not too liquidy I used 2 heaping tablespoons of flour in my filling mixture. I also added a light sprinkling of cinnamon before laying the top crust down. I over heaped my filling and it did not shirnk much, perhaps the apples I used? GALA... made for a sweet, yummy, pie. I've never made pie before and everyone RAVED over this recipie. I have one of the 3 frozen and can hardly wait to cook it! TIP from my 86 year old Grandmother: Touch the crust as little as possible when it is dough, otherwise it will be tough after being cooked. 2nd TIP: Freeze the pie before cooking, that way retains it's juicy-ness without becoming soggy once you cook it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetKatieL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was the BEST apple pie I have ever had!! The crust was perfect and not too brown. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Oh yeah - THAT'S what I'm talking about! What a terrific flavor, just delicious and so easy to make! I did make sure to use heaping tablespoons of flour and 7 cups seemed like too many apples; even after heaping them into the crust, I had some left over. I will definitely make this again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
very good pie, accidentally added 2tsp of cinnamon to the recipe and it came out better! I've made this pie about 5 times in just 2 weeks, gave a couple away and kept a few. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States