Old Fashioned Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
I used my own lard crust for this recipie, and the filling was delicious! I used about 6 or 7 small macintosh apples, and my boyfriend is in the process of eating it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This is a very classic apple pie that is excellent! Just the right seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Durham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
EXCELLENT! I followed the recipe exactly using 6 Granny Smith apples. I was looking for an apple pie that had a more cinnamon taste than caramel. This was perfect. Hubby declared it "EXCELLENT". It did take a little longer to bake as I turned the oven down to 275. I feel that 300 would have been better. Thank you Arletta for sharing this EXCELLENT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I made three of these at once for Mothers Day gifts, mostly because I wanted to use my entire pound of lard at once, which makes 3 double crusted pies. To ensure it was not too liquidy I used 2 heaping tablespoons of flour in my filling mixture. I also added a light sprinkling of cinnamon before laying the top crust down. I over heaped my filling and it did not shirnk much, perhaps the apples I used? GALA... made for a sweet, yummy, pie. I've never made pie before and everyone RAVED over this recipie. I have one of the 3 frozen and can hardly wait to cook it! TIP from my 86 year old Grandmother: Touch the crust as little as possible when it is dough, otherwise it will be tough after being cooked. 2nd TIP: Freeze the pie before cooking, that way retains it's juicy-ness without becoming soggy once you cook it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetKatieL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This pie is just like Grandma used to make. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Was so easy to make for a first time pie attempt.. thanks so much for posting.. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nosturtle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I'm getting ready to make another one of these pies I change the apples up to what ever I can get from the local orchards but it's the same great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Boston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was the BEST apple pie I have ever had!! The crust was perfect and not too brown. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Oh yeah - THAT'S what I'm talking about! What a terrific flavor, just delicious and so easy to make! I did make sure to use heaping tablespoons of flour and 7 cups seemed like too many apples; even after heaping them into the crust, I had some left over. I will definitely make this again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
very good pie, accidentally added 2tsp of cinnamon to the recipe and it came out better! I've made this pie about 5 times in just 2 weeks, gave a couple away and kept a few. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States