Old Fashioned Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This turned out pretty well. I needed a recipe quick for Thanksgiving. After we moved, I couldn't find my recipe book with my usual Apple pie recipe. Some people liked it some liked the ones I usually bake. The only things I would change would be adding less butter and more flour. The juices in the pie did not thicken as much as I like. All in all a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
This pie turned out horribly! The taste was very good, but it was very, very watery. I think you should at least triple the amount of flour in the recipe. I would not try this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
I used my own lard crust for this recipie, and the filling was delicious! I used about 6 or 7 small macintosh apples, and my boyfriend is in the process of eating it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This pie is just like Grandma used to make. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
It was a little bitter but maybe my apples were too sour to begin with. But even so, it turned out delicious. The only thing I did differently was to line the edge with foil so the crust didn't burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
This apple pie was delicious! It was very wasy to make and family loved it. I used Granny Smith apples and brushed the unbaked crust with egg white to make it golden brown after it was baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
This is a very classic apple pie that is excellent! Just the right seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Durham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Great flavor. I also brushed the crust with egg and covered the edges to prevent burning of the crust. However, mine came out watery too. I agree with the reviewer who suggested doubling the amount of flour. I will try this because this pie is worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I baked this pie and brought it over to my brother's house for a family gathering. Now, my mother always makes apple pies for all the holidays and my brother especially loves them. Well, all I can say is my brother told my mother that she has competition! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This was my 1st apple pie,it was easy to make and soooo good Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simone's Mom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States