Old Fashioned Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
we really enjoyed this apple pie. Previous reviews stated it was runny. To counter that without giving the pie a flour-y taste, I gave a generous sprinkle of minute tapioca in the bottom of the shell. I will use this recipe again for sure!! Definitely didn't have to worry about left-overs on this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Pohozoff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melfort, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
To avoid wateriness in an old-fashioned apple pie you need to do two things: Use Cortland or other cooking apples (never use Macintosh!) and add 2 tablespoons of uncooked tapioca right out of the box (more for a 10" pie). Spread the first tablespoon over the bottom of the pie crust before you add any apples, then sprinkle the remaining tablespoon throughout the pie. The tapioca helps absorb the moisture resulting in a perfect pie--don't worry, you can't taste it! :) You may need to experiment and adjust the amount of tapioca to suit your individual preferences. This trick was passed down to me by my father whose Swedish grandmother taught it to him as a child... she made the best pies! Another tip from Nana: Don't just dump the apples into the pie crust, place them individually in concentric rings. This takes a LOT longer but your pie will not sink at all--you can have a true "mile high apple pie" and you don't pour in the "sugar soup" at the bottom of the mixing bowl that can also contribute to wateriness. I like my pies a little moist, so I do pour a little of the sugar mixture in, but not all of it. Also, if you're storing your apples in lemon water to prevent browning between peeling and putting them in the crust, make sure you give them time to drain and shake the colander well to get rid of all the extra water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
very good pie, accidentally added 2tsp of cinnamon to the recipe and it came out better! I've made this pie about 5 times in just 2 weeks, gave a couple away and kept a few. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
EXCELLENT! I followed the recipe exactly using 6 Granny Smith apples. I was looking for an apple pie that had a more cinnamon taste than caramel. This was perfect. Hubby declared it "EXCELLENT". It did take a little longer to bake as I turned the oven down to 275. I feel that 300 would have been better. Thank you Arletta for sharing this EXCELLENT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Oh yeah - THAT'S what I'm talking about! What a terrific flavor, just delicious and so easy to make! I did make sure to use heaping tablespoons of flour and 7 cups seemed like too many apples; even after heaping them into the crust, I had some left over. I will definitely make this again, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salisbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was the BEST apple pie I have ever had!! The crust was perfect and not too brown. Perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
I made three of these at once for Mothers Day gifts, mostly because I wanted to use my entire pound of lard at once, which makes 3 double crusted pies. To ensure it was not too liquidy I used 2 heaping tablespoons of flour in my filling mixture. I also added a light sprinkling of cinnamon before laying the top crust down. I over heaped my filling and it did not shirnk much, perhaps the apples I used? GALA... made for a sweet, yummy, pie. I've never made pie before and everyone RAVED over this recipie. I have one of the 3 frozen and can hardly wait to cook it! TIP from my 86 year old Grandmother: Touch the crust as little as possible when it is dough, otherwise it will be tough after being cooked. 2nd TIP: Freeze the pie before cooking, that way retains it's juicy-ness without becoming soggy once you cook it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetKatieL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I'm getting ready to make another one of these pies I change the apples up to what ever I can get from the local orchards but it's the same great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Boston, Michigan, USA
Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Was so easy to make for a first time pie attempt.. thanks so much for posting.. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nosturtle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This was a good recipe. I read the review before baking the pie and decided to reduce the sugar to 3/4 cup to avoid the runny pie syndrome others were experiencing. It turned out really great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brix

Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States