Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
way tooo sweet! the sauce was too much and the 1 hour it says to cook was too long.. my apples were complete mush.. so sad.. i was looking forward to a great apple dumpling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
These were very yummy! They have a fantastic carmel that gets made while baking. So So good! Perfect on ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I don't usually write a review, but this recipe is spectacular! This was my first attempt at dumplings and they turned out perfect. I didn't change a thing. Thank you Micki for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
These were yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I only used the sauce portion of this recipe (I already had frozen apple dumplings). It was absolutely wonderful! I cut the white sugar down to 1/2 c. and added 1/2 c. of brown sugar. I also added about 1 tbsp. of cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was the very best recipe! I will be making this again and again. I made it with large Granny Smith apples but cut them in half. That was large enough in itself for each serving. I also used ready made pie crust. They were delicious. I was a little leary at first about all that water in the sauce but it cooks up wonderfully and turned out nice and sticky, not too watery. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
WOW! Absolutely the best ever!! I will make these over and over and over again! Made the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Yummy!! Had some extra champagne apples from new mexico, so used those instead of granny smith. Very tasty and not too difficult to make, just time-consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I made it using lura red (slightly tart) apples, and it is my husband's new favorite! :-) I made it pretty much as-is, except with store-bought crusts. I also replaced some of the white sugar with brown sugar in the sauce. As per the recommendation of another reviewer, I poured the sauce over the dumplings multiple times throughout the cooking, which I think really helped them soak up all the flavor of the sauce. Overall, DELICIOUS! A wonderful recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States