Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
It was perfect! Added 1 tsp. ginger for fun and used a double recipe for homemade crust. Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This recipe is amazing. This was the first time I ever tried to make apple dumplings and this recipe was so easy. It was so tasty. I use the butter flaky pie crust recipe for the dough. I will be making these over and over again. Can't wait to eat them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DebbyJean
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Better than my Moms...sshh..don't tell her. I used ready made pie crusts. Rolled each one out as much as I could and cut in half. Made 4 big apple dumplings. Used 1 1/2 cups white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar for sauce...yumm. Sprinkled top of dumplings with cinnamon. Basted dumplings only once, near end of baking. It does look like a lot of sauce..but it's not really. Put leftovers in fridge. When ready to eat..just put in a bowl, spooned some sauce over top and popped in microwave for about 1-2 minutes. DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbyJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I use the Crisco crust recipe, which always turns out good--Note that it is important to make sure that, when you pour the sauce on just before placing in oven, the sauce is boiling and the oven is already preheated to 400. This prevents soggy crust. Yummy yummy dumplings, and very impressive to serve to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Imlay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
these were delicious! I used a premade pie dough because I did not have time to make my own. I thought that the caramel sauce would get a little thicker and might try thickening it a little next time but still delicious. Served it with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrgrimm
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
these are great. i ended up mixing the brown sugar and cinnamon and nutmeg and sugar all together before reading the directions. but it came out more caramelized and great. i added chopped pecans to the mixture too. yum. i didnt use all of the sauce and only made 4. i basted them twice with the sauce throughout baking and only left about 1/2 inch of the sauce in the bottom. i baked them about 10 min. more to get the sauce a little thicker and the tops crunchier. yum, as they sat to cool, they flattened. fantastic. i originally wanted turnovers but made these instead. definitely a bakery delicacy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Delicious!! My fammily loved them!! And, they were easy to make!! A win, win!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Great! The first time I ever had apple dumplings was at an apple cheese festival. I wouldn't have even tried them if I wasn't persuaded by my family who raved about them. They were delicious and of course went home and began searching for a similar recipe. I did not have to search far! I was very impressed because I thought I would have to play around to duplicate the great taste I discovered at the festival, but this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I have tried this recipe twice and the crust just doesnt cook and turnes to mush while baking in the sauce. i dont know what im doing wrong?! any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I won best dessert at our fall pot luck at work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States