Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Awesome recipe! I made it with my own home-made pastry, used Honeycrisp apples, replaced the white sugar with brown and added some ground clove. At first, I was a little afraid the sauce would be too sticky or make the pastry too gummy, but it turned out great! I've made it with whole apples and half apples (for slightly smaller servings). I will be making these often! Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geecko

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oliver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
this recipe was so awesome. I used the recipe for "French Pastry Pie Crust" on this site. I kind of messed up the sauce because I ran out of butter, but it still turned out delish!! Will be making these for my thanksgiving party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chamberfamfl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
awesome recipe! followed the recipe the first time, came out great. second time, added some cloves for more depth of flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Awesome! We had these last night and they were great! I did use store bought pie shells.(had them on hand) Served them warm with whipped cream! Yum! Will be making these again soon! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen T.

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
these are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
just made these today, and i can't believe how wonderful they turned out! will never make apple pie again, this was hands down better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Recipe is a keeper. There is a problem with the butter though. It does not state how much butter to use in the sauce or how much to use in the dumplings themselves.So you have to guess at it. Also suggest that you make six portions of dough and role them out individually for each apple. Also depending on the size of the apples, you should make a minimum double crust recipe for a 10" pie. I used medium sized apples, not large as the recipe called for and had barely enough dough for the crust. Less than that you will not have enough.crust for the dumplings. that would be 2 &2/3 cup of flour or 374 grams; 1 cup of shortening; 1 tsp salt; and 7.5 tbs of chilled water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Don't change a thing!! These are GREAT!!! I am an apple pie addict but from now on I will be serving these instead of pies at holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I used 6 small apples. That is more practical as a single serving after a meal. I cooked them only for 50 minutes and only at 350. But I baked them in glass, which does cook hotter and faster than metal. I do not like mushy apples. The texture of the apples came out perfect. Soft but still with a little tooth to them. I used a little less butter and brown sugar to make up for the smaller apples. I also used the butter flaky pie crust recipe like another reviewer. I did not use half of the sauce because I thought the apples should not be more than half covered by the sauce while cooking or they would be mushy. I did not boil the vanilla in the sauce. Instead, I added the vanilla immediately after the sauce was done boiling and then immediately poured the liquid over the apples. I would do it this way again. I cooked two batches to experiment with covered versus uncovered. The covered batch I uncovered only when there was 20 minutes left at which time I basted them with the sauce. The other batch I cooked uncovered the entire time. The covered ones were more successful because I did not like how brown and crunchy the uncovered ones got on their tops. I put homemade whipped cream on top of them before serving. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Just a little too much sugar. My whole family liked these a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States