Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I was searching for a recipe just like what my mother made from time to time that I loved. This recipe looked to be the same as hers and I tried it myself by using this recipe. Spot on! I've had different variations of apple dumplings, but there's nothing like old fashioned. Super easy and delicious. If I had to add anything next time was maybe a little brown sugar to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Koehler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becca
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Very yummy! Made my own homemade pie crust...these are wonderful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Sorry, but this recipe has several flaws, baking time, amount of sauce, failure to recommend apple size to coincide with dough requirement just to name a few. As some other reviewers I ended up with applesauce bursting out of half over fine half underdone dough saturated with a sickening sweet sauce. Should have known something was wrong when I first read the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Delicious! I used one double crust frozen crust but next time will use 2 packages to cover the apples more completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
My husband loved these, said they were just like Mom's. I added some sassafras root to the sugar water mixture and got a really unique flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
this is what my Mother used to cook for us children when I was a small boy but always remember this treat during the fall months, I regretted being able to get this recipe from my mother before she passed. I have fixed this for my grandchildren and their reaction was the same as mine when I was young, we make it often now and has become a favorite fall treat and all the daughter in laws have copied the recipe for them self's. I have not changed anything to this recipe it is perfect the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jellyhead

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I didn't have time to make the dough from scratch, so I took an idea from another chef on here and used Pillsbury's crescent rolls (someone else used biscuits but same thing). They were excellent! Yes, very sweet - something like a Cinnabon - and I had to put foil on the top and bake longer than an hour (at 350). Can't wait to make these again, with dough from scratch! Excellent sauce and as everyone says - don't mind how watery it is; that will change as it cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeaGirl2014
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wendis
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Takes a little time but results are well worth it. Don't skimp on the sauce. It does seem like its too much but after basting during the cooking process and pouring over the scoop of vanilla ice cream that compliments the dumpling...delish! Everyone raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Yummy, yummy, yummy. Wanted to try and make "dumplings like Mom used to make" and this was it! Have made several times now. Sometimes you have to cut the sweetness with a little vanilla ice cream:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Lyn Hillard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
These apple dumplings were INCREDIBLE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States