Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Yummy, yummy, yummy. Wanted to try and make "dumplings like Mom used to make" and this was it! Have made several times now. Sometimes you have to cut the sweetness with a little vanilla ice cream:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Lyn Hillard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
These apple dumplings were INCREDIBLE!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corinne K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
These were fabulous! I made them for a family dinner and they were a big hit with everyone. I did mix the spices (adding a dash of ginger) into the brown sugar and then use ~1Tbsp. sugar mixture per apple. I also only used 1/2 Tbsp. butter per apple. I also added a few dashes of the same spices to the sauce/syrup to tie all the favors together. I used my own crust recipe. For those stating their apples became mush, it has to do with the type of apple you used most likely. Granny Smith are good baking apples and mine were perfect at one hour baking time. I followed the majority of reviewers suggestion to make & use all of the sauce or syrup on the apples while baking. I will not do that next time. I will make half and use enough to cover the bottom of the pan. Then I will use the remainder to 'baste' the apples every few minutes. The syrup was excellent, but, even though we spooned it over them again when serving, there was a lot left and wasted. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I guess I prefer apple crisp vs. dumplings, but my family LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
These were delicious! I made six on Sunday and I/we finished off the last one today (Tuesday).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
This was great! I cheates and used the ready to use refrigerated pie crust.. still was excellent. Only I think next time I will change the sauce. ..I like mine thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I made these and they were the best ever!!!! Thank you so much for the recipe : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This was not good at all. It was way too sweet, my daughter wouldn't even eat it. I only baked it for 45 minutes, and it looked like all my apples exploded. When we tried to eat this, the apples were mush -think chunky applesauce. and the only edible crust was the very top, and it wasn't that great. Everything else that the "sauce" touched was an unbaked gooey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I too used premade pie crust. Rolled out dough and cut into 4 pieces. I used frozen apple sliced I put up this fall, and added a fresh pear to it (was needing to use it up). Let the apples thaw and drained off juice, added the rest of ingredients and filled. As for the sauce, made as direct, only used about 1/2 to 3/4 of it. will cut in 1/2 next time...but it sure was good. The pan was licked clean before our heads hit the pillow. Will make again, and again. Oh, don't forget a scoop of vanilla icecream on top! Would have added a photo, but forget until the pan was empty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
what am I doing wrong? I make this recipe and they're so much sauce in the dish that the bottom half doesn't back thoroughly. So I made the recipe again using 2 baking dishes instead of one so the sauce didn't come up so high on the dumpling and still the bottom half of the dough did not thoroughly cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States