Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2002
These are the true old-fashioned apple dumplings! The sauce is awesome. They aren't difficult, and were kind of fun to make. I think you could even use store-bought pie dough if you aren't good at making your own. I think these are a true comfort food. Try them! Danny R.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
mmmmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I used the premade pie crusts from the store, and it turned out great. I also made a couple sauces to go with them. A vanilla sauce, and a cinnamon sugar sauce. Both yummy over the apples! No leftovers. I also made them for breakfast when I had some friends over. I served them with scrambled egg crescent cups, and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richview, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Oh my gosh these are just like grandma used to make. The sauce is awesome!! I used about 1/2 cup less water because I boiled the sauce in the microwave and didn't want it to overflow. It will if you don't watch it carefully --so make sure if you do it in the microwave you use a big enough glass bowl. I added about 1/4 cup of dark brown sugar to the sauce instead of light brown and it gave it a rich flavor. What can I say but yum?!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Egg Harbor Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This had an OK taste to it. I used the recipe for Buttery Flaky Pie Crust (which was great) for the shell. I tried it with granny smith apples but I liked rome apples better. So did everyone else. End result was everyone really liked the shell just not the apple part. So still looking for grandma's apple dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
These came out great. I cheated though and used a dairy case ready-made piecrust. I added a tablespoon of raisins, and about a teaspoon and a half of chopped pecans into the center of each apple. My husband really loved these apple dumplings, especially when served warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2003
These are better than apple pie! I made these for my boyfriend and he absolutely loved them and SO DID I! I absolutely love the way they were individual and the sauce was excellent! Although, mine cooked in approx. 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
This was a simply delicious recipe. very rich in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
Perfect, perfect. Everyone raved about these. Made for my kids birthday party dinner and they turned out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I made these and we loved them! I cut the water mixture in half and it was plenty. I only made 6 and I used the premade pie dough! My husband said they were so good and didn't even need ice cream if you can imagine that! Well worth a try. Thanks Micki for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States