Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I won best dessert at our fall pot luck at work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Fabulous!!! I made this for my family and they were a hit!!!! I cant wait until I make it again, which will probably be tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hincr803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
The best thing I ever had! this recipe is awsome. Was a great hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
These are wonderful. The sauce is a little on the sweet side so instead of serving with Vanilla Ice Cream we served with half n half or cream. The non sweetness of the cream balanced everything out. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Wow this was really good.My whole family loved this.Other than using a bigger roasting pan to bake the apples in I made this as directed. The bigger pan allowed more of the apples to stick out than other people were saying. We really liked it this way. I don't think I would baste the apples while cooking. I meant to baste them as some people suggested but forgot to. The homemade pie crust was very flaky and was sweetened just right with the sugar in the apple center. This was my first time making or eating apple dumplings. I sure have been missing out on a lot. My kids loved helping me make this. They peeled the apples for me while I made the pie crust. It wasn't very pretty but will,I think,improve in looks with practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
WONDERFUL!!! Made them with my daughter for my dad... he said, "They're the only apple dumplings I've ever had that were better than your mom's. But don't tell her!" That says it all!!! A MUST make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
Very good. Next time I will cut back on the sauce. It took too long to thicken. I used the french pastry pie crust from this site and it totally fell apart while I was wraping the apples, but it was really yummy. Also I recommend basting during baking and then while it rests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I made this recipe and everyone LOVED it. I did a few things different. 1 I used store bought dough. 2 I used macintosh apples because that is what I already had.3 I missed a step when making these and instead of putting the cin and nutmeg mixture on the apples before pinching the dough I did it after already sealing the apples in. It was still AMAZINg and I will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Absolutely divine. I made these for my husband and kids, they devoured it and my 4 year old asked for 2nds (and was denied of course!) I felt the recipe was fairly easy. I followed it to a T. Thanks so much for posting, this will be a regular around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tinkerzazz
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
best recipe I have ever used for these! Taste just like moms! I was out of white sugar for the syrup so used brown sugar, came out perfectly! Wrapped them in Basic Flaky Pie Crust By: stephanie found on this site was perfect. Will make them again and again! Don't be leary about adding the syrup. My first reaction was it was way to thin and was going to turn the pastry to mush. I was wrong, as it cooled it made this wonderful buttery caramel flavored topping for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tinkerzazz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southwick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Windsor, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States