Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This was not good at all. It was way too sweet, my daughter wouldn't even eat it. I only baked it for 45 minutes, and it looked like all my apples exploded. When we tried to eat this, the apples were mush -think chunky applesauce. and the only edible crust was the very top, and it wasn't that great. Everything else that the "sauce" touched was an unbaked gooey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberT

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I too used premade pie crust. Rolled out dough and cut into 4 pieces. I used frozen apple sliced I put up this fall, and added a fresh pear to it (was needing to use it up). Let the apples thaw and drained off juice, added the rest of ingredients and filled. As for the sauce, made as direct, only used about 1/2 to 3/4 of it. will cut in 1/2 next time...but it sure was good. The pan was licked clean before our heads hit the pillow. Will make again, and again. Oh, don't forget a scoop of vanilla icecream on top! Would have added a photo, but forget until the pan was empty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Five Boys One Mom so nota

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
what am I doing wrong? I make this recipe and they're so much sauce in the dish that the bottom half doesn't back thoroughly. So I made the recipe again using 2 baking dishes instead of one so the sauce didn't come up so high on the dumpling and still the bottom half of the dough did not thoroughly cook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Prepared this recipe exactly as written. Like other reviewers, I was skeptical of the very watery sauce but made according to recipe directions. These dumplings are to die for! Everyone loved them. They turned out beautifully with a delicious caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Strangely, my store bought double crust was enough for only 2 apples. Those two were delicious. I'm going to go get an apple corer for the next time. For, there will be a next time! I served them warm with vanilla ice cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
My sauce was more like taffy, very thick and chewy. We also decided we like to have the apples sliced and coated with sugar and spice, so that each piece is sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
I have to say this was a great recipie. These apple dumplings turned out fabulous!! I used a basic butter pie crust and I added a spoon of cinnamon to the sauce when I heated it up in the sauce pan. I topped them with homemade whipped cream at serving time and they were just so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I had never even heard of an apple dumpling but ohhh my goodness i'm glad I have now! When I first came across this recipe I was kinda nervous dumping all the liquid in with the wrapped apples but it made the best sauce! This is really worth making...again and again and again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Very good. worth making again for sure! The only things I changed were substituting 1/2 c of brown sugar and then 1 1/2 c. of white sugar for the syrup. I also put in an 8x11 pan and it filled it nicely. Basted the apple dumplings with the sauce about once every 10-15 minutes, which helped create a nice, crusty, golden crust- mmmm mmmm!! :) I also topped with a few chopped walnuts. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
The best dumplings ever! No alterations needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States