Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
WOW! Absolutely the best ever!! I will make these over and over and over again! Made the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Yummy!! Had some extra champagne apples from new mexico, so used those instead of granny smith. Very tasty and not too difficult to make, just time-consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
This recipe is amazing! I made it using lura red (slightly tart) apples, and it is my husband's new favorite! :-) I made it pretty much as-is, except with store-bought crusts. I also replaced some of the white sugar with brown sugar in the sauce. As per the recommendation of another reviewer, I poured the sauce over the dumplings multiple times throughout the cooking, which I think really helped them soak up all the flavor of the sauce. Overall, DELICIOUS! A wonderful recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Very, very sweet.... they tasted great though... I made this on an extremely hot and humid day so it was hard to keep the crust together because it was mushy. I used 6 small apples and halved the recipe putting it in a 8 in. square pan.... But over all they tasted great... will definately make again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
These were wonderful as promised, just as the recipe calls for. I'm sure playing around with the caramel sauce would be a nice change to though. HELPFUL HINT: These can be made at least 1 day in advance if you need to. First, swish your peeled apples in a bowl of water and 2 TBSP lemon juice to stop them from browning. Then wrap as directed. Place dumplings in the pan and cover tightly with plastic wrap so no air is touching the pastry. Make the sauce as directed, and pour into a container and place in the fridge when cool. When you are ready to bake, just pour the sauce over the dumplings and bake as directed! MMMM Good. I make these before we leave to go camping and have them the first night. We cook them in the toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
These are wonderful! Exactly like my grandma's. To the person "Beginner Cook" who reviewed these before me - it sounds like you may have used the wrong type of apples. Granny Smith are best for baking. Did you use an "eating" apple?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
This was pretty good, I am a beginner cook. And somehow messed this up, my apples tasted good, however; they had the texture of like chewed up mike n' ikes. That gel candy. Kinda very gel like. Anyway, I cook at 400 degrees for exactly 1hr. at the middle shelf. Where may I have gone wrong? Can anyone give me a pointer??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
All i have to say is...So...Freaking...GOOD!!!!!!!!!! So it took me a little longer than 30 minutes for prep, and i may have forgotten to peel the apples, but holy cow this was awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
FANTASTIC! These really weren't difficult to make and the sauce poured over the top to serve was absolute heaven! Try this recipe - you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
Loved this recipe! Everything was wonder, baked it a little longer than instructed and I liked it very much. Would definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States