Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I loved this dough!It's much nicer than just plain pastry dough. The vanilla butter sauce is so much tastier than the ones made with the red cinnamon heart candies. I added less sugar to this to make it a bit more friendly to my family members who are diabetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Butchko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
It took a bit more prep time than I had expected, but boy, these are decadently delicious, as if you ordered dessert from the 4 Seasons! Thank you for the recipe! You can add 1/8-1/4 cup of your favorite alchoholic beverage to the cinnamon syrup which will add even more depth and nuance to the flavors. You can add chopped nuts to the syrup which will gently caramelize them as you heat them (via stove top or microwave). Diabetics? Splenda worked on one batch - just cut to 1/2 the amount of sugar called for, or else too sweet. I cut the apples into halves since whole ones are too big and too much for one serving size after a meal - and it was still plenty. I sprinkled the sugar/cinnamon mixture all over the apple halves, put a a small pat of butter in the cored out center, then put the 'flat side' down onto the dough before wrapping and sealing it up. I gently pressed the dumplings into a smooth rounded shape (so looked way more pretty than the original pic :) I sprinkled more sugar/cinnamon over the outside. I used the tines of a fork to poke a few holes on the tops to prevent cracking. I even used the home made crust recipe found on this site which also had 5 stars - so can't go wrong! TOTALLY worth all the effort! Make it even more pretty? Cut out leaves from leftover dough, then gently lift them and lay down on top of the apple forms! Coolio, huh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Good, easy. Make sure you use a quality pie crust (whether store bought or homemade).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I made these today, and they turned out great! The only thing I did differently was to substitute a cup of apple cider for one of the three cups water, just because I had it in the fridge and thought "why not?" It made the syrup a little darker, which was nice-looking. I divided the dough into 6 portions before rolling it out, to make it easier. I wouldn't change anything about this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paulalalala

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Very easy & delicious! I used 3 store bought crusts & reduced the amount of sugar to 1 cup. I think next time I will reduce the sugar 1/2 c-to 3/4 c, because the sauce was just a little too sweet. I used 1/2 c white sugar & 1/2 c brown sugar. I cut the apples in half which was a much better serving size. Served warm with with vanilla ice cream. They were a hit with my dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I loved them. The sauce however was a little slimmy for me but dumpling was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Hooper
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
These dumplings are totally delicious!!!! I've made them three times in the past month, no one can get enough of them!!! I use premade pie crust for the dumpling crust, one apple per pie crust. However, these are so sweet and rich, it's difficult for a person with a sweet tooth to finish even half of one... so if you care about presentation, use one half of an apple and one half of a pie crust per serving. The sugar/water/vanilla mixture will seem very thin, but after cooking it turns into a delicious caramel sauce, so don't worry about it. Out of preference, I only make and use half of the sauce. If you make the entire amount, it nearly covers the dumplings and disintegrates the dough part, leaving you with cooked apples in a lot of delicious sauce, instead of apple dumplings. This recipe is not difficult at all and well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
The most wonderful thing I've ever tasted. My wife baked these for me and I no longer want a cake on birthdays, I want these instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Lamoreaux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I botched the crust on this one. Next time I will make a double crust and make sure it is moist enough to roll out big enough. Besides that it was great. More sauce than needed. I'd make more apple dumplings and leave the sauce amount the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I made a lot of mistakes with this recipe (never made them before) but they still turned out fabulous! I made my own pie crust but I think next time, I'll separate it into individual portions before I roll it out. I will also make smaller portions (1/2 an apple)overall. The whole apple portion was HUGE! I forgot to put the cinnamon with the apple and just added it to the sauce instead but it came out great anyway. Also, I reserved about 1/4 of the sauce and added half and half to it to make a caramel sauce which was heavenly! I highly recommend this recipe. I don't think it's easy but I'll try it again. My husband wouldn't shut up about it! I guess it definitely has his endorsement too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONASPROF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States