Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by mrgrimm
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
these are great. i ended up mixing the brown sugar and cinnamon and nutmeg and sugar all together before reading the directions. but it came out more caramelized and great. i added chopped pecans to the mixture too. yum. i didnt use all of the sauce and only made 4. i basted them twice with the sauce throughout baking and only left about 1/2 inch of the sauce in the bottom. i baked them about 10 min. more to get the sauce a little thicker and the tops crunchier. yum, as they sat to cool, they flattened. fantastic. i originally wanted turnovers but made these instead. definitely a bakery delicacy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Delicious!! My fammily loved them!! And, they were easy to make!! A win, win!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Great! The first time I ever had apple dumplings was at an apple cheese festival. I wouldn't have even tried them if I wasn't persuaded by my family who raved about them. They were delicious and of course went home and began searching for a similar recipe. I did not have to search far! I was very impressed because I thought I would have to play around to duplicate the great taste I discovered at the festival, but this recipe is perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I have tried this recipe twice and the crust just doesnt cook and turnes to mush while baking in the sauce. i dont know what im doing wrong?! any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I won best dessert at our fall pot luck at work
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Fabulous!!! I made this for my family and they were a hit!!!! I cant wait until I make it again, which will probably be tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hincr803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
The best thing I ever had! this recipe is awsome. Was a great hit in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
These are wonderful. The sauce is a little on the sweet side so instead of serving with Vanilla Ice Cream we served with half n half or cream. The non sweetness of the cream balanced everything out. I will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Wow this was really good.My whole family loved this.Other than using a bigger roasting pan to bake the apples in I made this as directed. The bigger pan allowed more of the apples to stick out than other people were saying. We really liked it this way. I don't think I would baste the apples while cooking. I meant to baste them as some people suggested but forgot to. The homemade pie crust was very flaky and was sweetened just right with the sugar in the apple center. This was my first time making or eating apple dumplings. I sure have been missing out on a lot. My kids loved helping me make this. They peeled the apples for me while I made the pie crust. It wasn't very pretty but will,I think,improve in looks with practice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
WONDERFUL!!! Made them with my daughter for my dad... he said, "They're the only apple dumplings I've ever had that were better than your mom's. But don't tell her!" That says it all!!! A MUST make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States