Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
Recipe is a keeper. There is a problem with the butter though. It does not state how much butter to use in the sauce or how much to use in the dumplings themselves.So you have to guess at it. Also suggest that you make six portions of dough and role them out individually for each apple. Also depending on the size of the apples, you should make a minimum double crust recipe for a 10" pie. I used medium sized apples, not large as the recipe called for and had barely enough dough for the crust. Less than that you will not have enough.crust for the dumplings. that would be 2 &2/3 cup of flour or 374 grams; 1 cup of shortening; 1 tsp salt; and 7.5 tbs of chilled water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Don't change a thing!! These are GREAT!!! I am an apple pie addict but from now on I will be serving these instead of pies at holidays!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
I used 6 small apples. That is more practical as a single serving after a meal. I cooked them only for 50 minutes and only at 350. But I baked them in glass, which does cook hotter and faster than metal. I do not like mushy apples. The texture of the apples came out perfect. Soft but still with a little tooth to them. I used a little less butter and brown sugar to make up for the smaller apples. I also used the butter flaky pie crust recipe like another reviewer. I did not use half of the sauce because I thought the apples should not be more than half covered by the sauce while cooking or they would be mushy. I did not boil the vanilla in the sauce. Instead, I added the vanilla immediately after the sauce was done boiling and then immediately poured the liquid over the apples. I would do it this way again. I cooked two batches to experiment with covered versus uncovered. The covered batch I uncovered only when there was 20 minutes left at which time I basted them with the sauce. The other batch I cooked uncovered the entire time. The covered ones were more successful because I did not like how brown and crunchy the uncovered ones got on their tops. I put homemade whipped cream on top of them before serving. I would definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Just a little too much sugar. My whole family liked these a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
These were awesome! Might try cutting back a little bit on the white sugar next time, but I was told to not mess with the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
delicious!!!! So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookiemonster25
Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Living In: Fryeburg, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I like my sauce more like syrup. :) I only used about 2 cups water but used the same amount of sugar and added cinnamon. In each apple I used only 1/4 of the amount that it called for. Sooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
great!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I also added about 1/3 cup raisins (pre-soaked in warm brandy) to the brown sugar/cinnamon/nutmeg mixture inside the cored apples. I liked the tartness of the Granny Smith because the syrup was sweet and the apples helped it not be too much so. This was delicious and I will make it again for special occasions (in the fall/winter, most likely). I did cut the recipe down to only two apples/servings and it was still wonderful. Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
These were the best apple dumplings I've ever had! I used a prepared double crust from Trader Joes. Each crust made 4 dumplings. I followed the recipe exactly. My family and friends raved about them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States