Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
This recipe is a definite winner! I made it for my husband's birthday and he can't stop talking about how good they were. I didn't use quite as much butter in each apple as suggested (about half), but everything else was exactly as suggested. Just perfect with a scoop of French Vanilla ice cream and some of the sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
It is Awesome recipe!!!! Super delicious!!!! I didn't use white sugar instead: splenda and it works perfectly, also as a pastry I used the croissants dough and a rectangle for each apple. Garnish with pecans! Mmmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
My family and my boyfriend's family thoroughly enjoyed this dessert for thanksgiving! I doubled the recipe. I used 6 northern spy apples and cut each one in half. I then cored and peeled them. I bought pie crust at the store (for 12 dumplings, I ended up using 3 boxes of Pillsbury double crust pie crusts). I took a pie crust and cut it in half. I put an apple half on each half of crust and put 1/16 cup of butter on each (cut butter into 8 pieces, then cut each in half). On top of the butter, I sprinkled two palmfuls of brown sugar, some cinnamon, some nutmeg, and some ginger. In four of them, I added craisins on top and aroung the apple before folding it up - I marked those with craisins on top. I placed 6 dumplings in each pan and kept them in the fridge overnight (I made them the day before thanksgiving). I made the sauce (doubled and following all of the directions - I used one stick of butter) the night before and refrigerated that, as well. The next day, the butter in the sauce had become solid again, but that didn't matter. I brought it to a boil again and after 5 minutes, divided it between the 2 pans, and put them in the oven for 50 minutes. They turned out perfectly, and I served them with vanilla ice cream. My family only ate 6, so I brought the rest to my boyfriend's family the next day. They were actually wonderful reheated, too. Great recipe!!! I got many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This recipe was just too yummy looking, I HAD to make them for Thanksgiving! 2 small changes not because I didn't like the recipe but because I have an affinity for Mace & whiskey in apple dishes :) I put a pinch of mace in each dumpling and replaced 1/2 cup of the water in the sauce with whiskey, just enough to give it a more full bodied flavor. I also added a dash of each spice to the sauce as well :) Will def be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
It was perfect! Added 1 tsp. ginger for fun and used a double recipe for homemade crust. Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This recipe is amazing. This was the first time I ever tried to make apple dumplings and this recipe was so easy. It was so tasty. I use the butter flaky pie crust recipe for the dough. I will be making these over and over again. Can't wait to eat them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DebbyJean
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Better than my Moms...sshh..don't tell her. I used ready made pie crusts. Rolled each one out as much as I could and cut in half. Made 4 big apple dumplings. Used 1 1/2 cups white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar for sauce...yumm. Sprinkled top of dumplings with cinnamon. Basted dumplings only once, near end of baking. It does look like a lot of sauce..but it's not really. Put leftovers in fridge. When ready to eat..just put in a bowl, spooned some sauce over top and popped in microwave for about 1-2 minutes. DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbyJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I use the Crisco crust recipe, which always turns out good--Note that it is important to make sure that, when you pour the sauce on just before placing in oven, the sauce is boiling and the oven is already preheated to 400. This prevents soggy crust. Yummy yummy dumplings, and very impressive to serve to guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Imlay City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
these were delicious! I used a premade pie dough because I did not have time to make my own. I thought that the caramel sauce would get a little thicker and might try thickening it a little next time but still delicious. Served it with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberC2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrgrimm
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
these are great. i ended up mixing the brown sugar and cinnamon and nutmeg and sugar all together before reading the directions. but it came out more caramelized and great. i added chopped pecans to the mixture too. yum. i didnt use all of the sauce and only made 4. i basted them twice with the sauce throughout baking and only left about 1/2 inch of the sauce in the bottom. i baked them about 10 min. more to get the sauce a little thicker and the tops crunchier. yum, as they sat to cool, they flattened. fantastic. i originally wanted turnovers but made these instead. definitely a bakery delicacy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States