Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 25, 2007
I've made these a couple of times w/ a ready-made crust & homemade. A little involved to make but both looked impressive and were DELICIOUS. Sauce could be improved, instead, use the following caramel sauce from another recipe on this site: 1 cup packed brown sugar 1/2 cup butter 2 tablespoons light corn syrup Heat brown sugar and 1/2 cup butter until melted. **Remove from heat** stir in corn syrup. (Add crushed pecans w/ sauce for a beautiful presentation!) Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbolton07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckeye, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
These were awesome!!! My husband had me make them for his co-workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FISHINLYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cortland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was simply the easiest dessert recipe I have ever made!!! I really don't care too much for baked apples (pies etc.) but THIS was excellent!!!!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veda'sCookingDinner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
great recipe! I made the dumplings for a holiday gift and my coworkers loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarence, New York, USA
Living In: Walworth, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I have done these twice, gorgeous..I boobed the first time but they were still ok, so give it another go and they were perfect, very filling as well, do not eat a big dinner before this dessert
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
wow!these are really good:-) I've made apple dumplings before and for some reason never thought to use nutmeg--the nutmeg makes a difference.These tasted like my recipe with the addition of nutmeg.absolutely delicious!Very easy to make,but a little time consuming.Very worth the time and effort though!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Cadiz, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
Great recipe- Great Flavor. Worth it for the time! SUGGESTIONS: -1/2 the amount of water for the sauce... -Be careful not to spill the sauce on the pan or the bottom of the apples- will burn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
These were the absolute best apple dumplings! Took a bit of time to prepare, but very easy and soooooo worth it. I used french pastry pie crust recipe on this site and this turned out amazing! My apples were med/lg sized and could have cooked a little longer, next time I'll use smaller apples. I used Fuji apples because they were on sale and they came out just fine. Great served warm with vanilla ice cream. Very rich, very filling, almost a meal in itself if served with coffee and ice cream. Neither hubby nor I could finish ours. Only our teenager could devour the entire dessert. I am definitely going to fix these over the holidays when all the family is here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
These turned out delicious! I added some red hots inside the apples and in the sauce to give them more flavor. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
Amazing! I sent these into work with my husband and his co-workers were calling me with proposals of marriage. I used the Best-ever pie dough from this site, and i couldn't be more impressed. I will make this again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States