Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Love it! But I don't add that much sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
Wow! I was a bit afraid of the amount of water for the syrup you pour over the dumplings. When I took mine out of the oven I quickly placed it in the refrigerater, 20 minutes later I went to get a dumpling. The syrup wasn't runny at all. This is the best Apple Dumpling recipe I have tried. I like sweeter apples more than I do tart apples, so I used Ida Red apples in mine, it was done in 55 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Metamora, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Absolutely outstanding recipe, like the ones grandma made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
This is yummy. I took the suggestions from the other reviewer's and chopped the apples. I prefer red apples. Also, I used margarine. Came out too salty. Will use unsalted butter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by starry9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
I made these with my 4 yeare old and 2 year old. So easy! I used sotre bought dough and just eyeballed the measurements. They each smashed some butter in the middle of the apple and then packed the center with brown sugar. A few shakes of allspice and we closed them up. I was thinking about skipping the sauce but I am glad I didn't. It truly makes the dish complete. Everybody loved them! We made just 2 a few hours ago for afternoon snack and now we are going back to make more for a special after dinner treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coralee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
EXCELLENT RECIPE! I made this last sat nite and it turned out wonderful! The only thing I could say to make it easier and taste better, is when making the crust, you can use those ready-made pie crusts from the store, and you can make 2 (half an apple per dumpling) dumplings per pie crust, OR can use a whole crust if you want to use a whole apple per dumpling. I only used 1/2 of green apples (gave great tart flavor with the sweetness) per dumpling, with 1/8 stick of butter and added brown sugar/cinnamon, and nutmeg to personal taste. I cooked this for 50 mins at the stated temperature, and it all cooked thoroughly well. When you serve this, don't poor more juice over the dumpling, this makes it too rich. You do want to poor the juice over the dumplings before cooking, but not after. The crunchiness at the top and cinnamon softness at the bottom with vanilla ice cream gives a perfect tecture of a warm & cold treat for the mouth. Great for having friends over! I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuthernScott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Well, my postpartum weight loss has come to a screeching halt because of this recipe! It's very, very good! I use gala apples instead of granny smith (just because galas are my favorite). And like another reviewer, I slice the apples up. For us, it's just easier to eat this way. The only other change I made was to cut the sauce in half: 1.5 cups water, 1 cup sugar, 1t vanilla extract. I serve these warm out of the oven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream. I also spoon the sauce over the dumpling and ice cream. Wonderful, wonderful dessert. The prep is a little involved, especially if you make your own pie crust (I use Perfect Pie Crust II by Kira Hultsman, cut in half), but it's well worth it. Trust me...you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DivineHealth7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
These were good. I used store bought pie crusts and followed the recipe. I only used 1/2 the sugar stated and the syrup was a bit runny. The family didn't mind and ate them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Amazing! Used store bought pie crust and they turned out fantastic. Everyone loved them. Sauce is perfect. Wish I could give this 10 stars - it's that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I got rave reviews on this recipe for a dinner Party I hosted. I add pecan pieces to the caramel sauce and served with ice cream. My only complaint is that the apples were almost too tender. Next time I might not bake them as long...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States