Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I made a lot of mistakes with this recipe (never made them before) but they still turned out fabulous! I made my own pie crust but I think next time, I'll separate it into individual portions before I roll it out. I will also make smaller portions (1/2 an apple)overall. The whole apple portion was HUGE! I forgot to put the cinnamon with the apple and just added it to the sauce instead but it came out great anyway. Also, I reserved about 1/4 of the sauce and added half and half to it to make a caramel sauce which was heavenly! I highly recommend this recipe. I don't think it's easy but I'll try it again. My husband wouldn't shut up about it! I guess it definitely has his endorsement too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONASPROF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I made these dumplings. They are wonderful. I will also cook them on 425 next time. The apples get a little too soft. I used granny smith, and they were tart enough to balance out the sweet sauce. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie Bates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This recipe was delicious but I found that two pie crusts were not enough to cover the apples completely. Three would have been better. Also, baking long enough to brown the dough made the apples cook almost to an applesauce consistancy. I would suggest baking at 425 dregrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I had never made apple dumplings, and am deathly afraid to make any kind of pie. So, I was timid going into making these. But, they turned out FABULOUS!!!! Quite a bit of work involved in preparation, but well worth it! SO yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taryn Lopshire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Churubusco, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I used the pre-made pastry shells. They were excellent and my husband asks for them at least once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLCooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I made theses last Sunday and they were the best, my family enjoyed them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey Gleichenhaus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I made this recipe last night. They are the best Apple Dumplings I have ever made. Very sweet! I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Hensel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This recipe is simply wonderful. My family said it was the best dessert ever made! I used MacIntosh apples instead and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This is a delicious use of apples. Just like your own individual apple pie. Very easy recipe to follow. Wouldnt change a thing about the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Zumbehl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I followed the recipe and they where awsome dont change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States