Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I loved them. The sauce however was a little slimmy for me but dumpling was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs. Hooper
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
These dumplings are totally delicious!!!! I've made them three times in the past month, no one can get enough of them!!! I use premade pie crust for the dumpling crust, one apple per pie crust. However, these are so sweet and rich, it's difficult for a person with a sweet tooth to finish even half of one... so if you care about presentation, use one half of an apple and one half of a pie crust per serving. The sugar/water/vanilla mixture will seem very thin, but after cooking it turns into a delicious caramel sauce, so don't worry about it. Out of preference, I only make and use half of the sauce. If you make the entire amount, it nearly covers the dumplings and disintegrates the dough part, leaving you with cooked apples in a lot of delicious sauce, instead of apple dumplings. This recipe is not difficult at all and well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Hooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: New Albany, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
The most wonderful thing I've ever tasted. My wife baked these for me and I no longer want a cake on birthdays, I want these instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Lamoreaux

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I botched the crust on this one. Next time I will make a double crust and make sure it is moist enough to roll out big enough. Besides that it was great. More sauce than needed. I'd make more apple dumplings and leave the sauce amount the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterloo, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
I made a lot of mistakes with this recipe (never made them before) but they still turned out fabulous! I made my own pie crust but I think next time, I'll separate it into individual portions before I roll it out. I will also make smaller portions (1/2 an apple)overall. The whole apple portion was HUGE! I forgot to put the cinnamon with the apple and just added it to the sauce instead but it came out great anyway. Also, I reserved about 1/4 of the sauce and added half and half to it to make a caramel sauce which was heavenly! I highly recommend this recipe. I don't think it's easy but I'll try it again. My husband wouldn't shut up about it! I guess it definitely has his endorsement too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BONASPROF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I made these dumplings. They are wonderful. I will also cook them on 425 next time. The apples get a little too soft. I used granny smith, and they were tart enough to balance out the sweet sauce. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This recipe was delicious but I found that two pie crusts were not enough to cover the apples completely. Three would have been better. Also, baking long enough to brown the dough made the apples cook almost to an applesauce consistancy. I would suggest baking at 425 dregrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I had never made apple dumplings, and am deathly afraid to make any kind of pie. So, I was timid going into making these. But, they turned out FABULOUS!!!! Quite a bit of work involved in preparation, but well worth it! SO yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TARYNLEAH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Churubusco, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I used the pre-made pastry shells. They were excellent and my husband asks for them at least once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLCooper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I made theses last Sunday and they were the best, my family enjoyed them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abbey Gleichenhaus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States