Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Wow, this was wonderful. I think I would cut down on the syrup that goes over it next time, pretty sweet, but my husband loved this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Made these to impress a guest of my husband's. He said they were the best he'd ever eaten! Thank you so much, I followed the directions to a T, and it turned out awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
These were amazing. My cooking crew mistook "cored apples" as making holes all the way through the apples, but it still came out amazing. I used all brown sugar (it was all we had), and mixed it with the cinnamon before sprinkling on the rolled-out pastry dough first. Just to make things easier for me. Definitely would do again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olua

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
absolutely delicious!!! No one can tells these are made with splenda sweetener rather than regular sugar. Would recommend to my friends and family and to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Well, I'm only thirteen and thought I'd try something that not even my mom has ever made. I made homemade pie crust, and used fresh apples from our tree. They were pretty simple. I baked them in a round casserole dish and poured all the sauce in and the sauce almost completely coverd the dumplings. I was worried about that. Though, when they came out my mom said that, "Oh, Oh, that is the best thing I have EVER eaten! Never give me apple crisp again!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakin' Machine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I too cut way back on the sugar and used only half the water because I thought the pie crust would get soggy. The sauce thicken on it's own and next time I would use the 3 cups of water but cut way back on the sugar. They were GREAT! Will make these often for an impressive dessert. I want to try a scoop of ice cream on them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
This recipe was fantastic! I make my own pie crusts and I used cut up apples instead of whole ones. I also sprinkled white sugar on top right before baking. It turned out delicious and I will definetly make it again and again! BRAVO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
VERY GOOD! I made this as a dessert to try out on everyone today as I'm looking for that special recipe to win an apple baking contest I will be competing in. I changed this recipe a little, first I diced the apples and added the sauce to the apples. I used a double pie crust which I rubbed with cinnamon and sugar on both sided. I then used a slotted spoon to fill the crusts with the apple filling spooning a slight amount of sauce in the center. This made 12 dumplings which I put in foil muffin liners (to save my bake ware). I added cornstarch to the sauce and cooked on the stove to thicken into a syrup and added a little caramel after tasting. After baking the apples for 20 minutes I topped them with some syrup and baked for another 20. I was afraid of having a soggy bottomed dumpling but it turned out great. Next time I will thicken the syrup and add it to the inside of the dumpling as well as the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
YUM! I made these today and they were a huge hit. I cut the water/sugar in half as suggested in reviews and it was the perfect amount. I also added some of the extra brown suger/spice mixture to the 'sauce' (as also suggested) and would do that again. I sliced my apples and had a hard time wrapping all the apple slices in the pie crust square. Next time, I will wrap the whole apple per recipe. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
talk about sugar overload! This was a bit sweet for me, but good. I would make half the water/sugar suace next time. I only poured about a cup of it over the dumplings. I ended up using 4 apples, each cut in half for the dumplings. I also used a box of pilsbury pie crusts....each crust cut into quarters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WSBLEND
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States