Old Fashioned Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Omg this recipe is amazing! I was a little nervous to try it but it was super easy and actually very fun to do! I did struggle with the crust part though. I've never really baked so I wasn't sure what the "pastry for a double crust pie" meant so I ended up buying some Pillsbury 2 pack crust. I tried using just one but that didn't work out so I ended up taking the second one out and using a cup to cut circles to go over the tops of the apples that didn't get covered with the first one. I was nervous about the sauce too because mine was super thin but trust me follow this recipe exactly because that sauce after it comes out the oven is divine (well even before it went it I was tasting it off the spoon...a couple times haha). I will definitely be keeping this recipe thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This was AMAZING!!! I used basic flakey pie crust off this website for dough. It make enough for 4 apples. I had to run to the store after one bite to get some vanilla ice cream. It paired so well together. I loved the gooeyness the sugar water makes. Great great dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
I use to make these when I was younger, just getting into my cooking experimental stage, for dessert! I'd start them just before dinner, then take them out and serve them warm and delicious! My dad loved them! And so did everyone else! Thanks for bringing back warm memmories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
this was awesome as listed second time I made it I used a warm english custard sauce (Byrds) and it was heaven!! easy enough also if using premade crust !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Just as good as apple pie, but with the option for individual dumplings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
I made these today. They were pretty good considering this was my first attempt ever at apple dumplings. Needed a little more cinnamon and sugar but over all the recipe was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoAnn McCarty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I was searching for a recipe just like what my mother made from time to time that I loved. This recipe looked to be the same as hers and I tried it myself by using this recipe. Spot on! I've had different variations of apple dumplings, but there's nothing like old fashioned. Super easy and delicious. If I had to add anything next time was maybe a little brown sugar to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Koehler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Becca
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Very yummy! Made my own homemade pie crust...these are wonderful and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Sorry, but this recipe has several flaws, baking time, amount of sauce, failure to recommend apple size to coincide with dough requirement just to name a few. As some other reviewers I ended up with applesauce bursting out of half over fine half underdone dough saturated with a sickening sweet sauce. Should have known something was wrong when I first read the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Delicious! I used one double crust frozen crust but next time will use 2 packages to cover the apples more completely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States