Old Fashioned Apple Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
made this pie a couple months ago and i really liked it. my boyfriend thought it was a little too lemony so next time will lighten up a bit on that. it was yummy and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
This was fabulous. The only change I made the first time I made this was to leave out the lemon zest because my family doesn't like it. The custard is delicious and really goes well with the apples. I also like the fact that the apples are cooked on the stove and not in the oven. I have made this pie again adding cinnamon and nutmeg to the apples while cooking. With the addition of these two spices, I give this recipe a five-star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimz11

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I made this on a cookie sheet doubled the recipe, used 5 mac apples, adjusted baking time a little ( thinner pie) It turned out amazing....had to share the recipe...thanks sooooo much for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by binnggo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I saw the exact recipe in an old issue of Taste of Home. This dessert turned out beautiful and delicious. I followed the recipe, but I forgot the lemon zest, it still turned out fabulous. Will definitely make again. YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This is really good - interesting. It tastes more how it looks than sounds, but lighter than it looks. I expected it to be denser and richer, but its very creamy and fresh-tasting. Like others, I could go for a few more apples - I used 3 large and would probably up it to 4. A nice dessert after a heavy dinner. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I love this pie! It was simple, fast and delicious. I left out the lemon juice and zest, and I added a little bit of heavy cream. Added some vanilla to the apples and cooked until they were tender. The apricot glaze on the apples really complimented the pie. My family polished this one off in just one day! Will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmhurst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
We thought this was very good!! I used a graham crust, and cut the lemon in half. I also used splenda and sugar free pudding, as well as low sugar jam. It ended up being a really good lower-sugar dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This was good and tasted surprisingly different than what you expect from apple pie. I couldn't figure out if I liked the apple layer or the cream layer better, so I just kept eating it. Advice: Let the cream cheese AND the milk come to room temperature for much easier blending. The first time I made this the cream cheese refused to blend smoothly with the cold milk and I nearly whisked my arm off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rozztafarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CBARBUSCA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This is really good, but you have to know that the cream part is quite lemony. I took a previous reviewer's advice and added some cinnamon, but probably should have added more. Also, I used more apples than it called for, and that worked out well. I made a plain regular pie crust, but next time, I would use something that added more flavor and crunch, like a crust made from vanilla wafers or graham crackers. If you don't like lemon, just skip the zest. You might consider using a little almond extract if you wanted a different flavor in the cream part, or possibly some apple pie spice if you wanted a stronger flavor from the apples. I will make this again, but I'll call it "Apple-Lemon Cream Pie" just so people aren't wondering why it tastes more like lemon than apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
I didn't really care for this recipe and neither did the rest of my family. It was rather simple and quick to make, but we just didn't care for the overall product. Like another review said, this is a good building block to use for other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelter Island, New York, USA
Living In: Thatcher, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States