Old Fashioned Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was really good, but I tweaked it so much that it wasn't really Apple Cake anymore :) I omitted the topping, and made my own sugary one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
I have made this cake several times for various functions. Have had many requests for the recipe. YUMMY & my 3 year old can't get enough of it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Now this is an excellent cake! This is the first cake on this site that I wish I could give more than 5 stars. My family loved it. The only change I made was I used a 9x13 pan and it worked fine. The cake is moist and flavorful and the glaze is awesome!!! I was just looking for a cake to use up some apples, and boy was I surprised when it turned out soooo good. I have made this cake about 6 times now and I have noticed that using cake flour makes it lighter and not as dense and different types of apples also make a difference. I also like to use about 1/2 C applesauce and 3/4 oil for a healthier version. When I prepare the glaze I bring it to a boil slowly and let it cook just a little maybe a minute then I poke a few holes in the warm cake before pouring the glaze over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
This is GREAT!!. I didn't have fresh apples or orange juice so I used a quart of home canned apples and used the juice in place of the orange juice. Really moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pam1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
I hate to make a recipe for a function without trying it first, but I didn't have time before the garden club meeting. I made this recipe and it was a huge hit. I made it in a bundt pan, baked for 1 hour and used less glaze than called for. I removed the cake from the pan shortly after removing from oven and it worked great. Took the left overs to work and had many requests for the recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
This was fantastic. I have made for several occasions, it is quick, easy w/ingredients on stock. The only problem is there are never any leftovers :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Missouri, USA
Living In: Palmyra, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This was excellent! The amount of oil I poured in the bowl and then the amount of glaze and how that would work out had me a bit worried, but went forward as written with good faith and had a fabulous product. I made exactly as is, no changes!!! I don't usually bring a new trial out in the open til I know it works, but did with this and it was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Excellent cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
delicious!!!really moist and taste excelent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marilyn
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This is a wonderful cake. Loved the coconut in it and the sauce is what really makes the cake. Next time I will poke something into the cake to get the sauce to go to the bottom. I made it exactly like the recipe says except I dusted the finished cake with powdered sugar. LATER; Today I made this cake again and used 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil. It is just perfect! It's a great way to cut some fat and still get the great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Passover Apple Cake

This traditional apple cake will be the hit of your Seder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States