Old Fashioned Apple Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This cake is fabulous and I am eating WAY too much of it! Can't stop. Served it for my book club meeting and everyone wanted the recipe. I followed the directions precisely and it is moist and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
Really good flavor even if a bit oily. Tastes less oily if you don't refrigerate. Will make again but will use a lot less oil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
This is the best recipe!!!! Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen Holden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This cake was ok, i dont see myself making it again anytime soon. The baking time is way too long, it was dried out and I even pulled it out ten minutes early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bath, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This cake is EXCELLENT! When I make this up I have to make 2, one for my mother and one for my uncle! They say its just like they used to make em! I don't add the coconut or nuts or the glaze and just make the cake...Doesn't last for long in this home!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marilyn
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This is a wonderful cake. Loved the coconut in it and the sauce is what really makes the cake. Next time I will poke something into the cake to get the sauce to go to the bottom. I made it exactly like the recipe says except I dusted the finished cake with powdered sugar. LATER; Today I made this cake again and used 1/2 applesauce and 1/2 oil. It is just perfect! It's a great way to cut some fat and still get the great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I did not like this at all. I am starting to think maybe I did something wrong, but I don't think so. It is very dense and has a strange consistency. Somehow I don't really like the taste either, but I don't know why because there is nothing out of the ordinary in it. Maybe it's the OJ? Can't put my finger on it, but not my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
delicious!!!really moist and taste excelent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This was a great recipe in which my husband gave a 10/10. I didn't make the frosting portion but served it as is and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laval, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Excellent cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Park, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States