Old Fashion Oatmeal Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Usually when I bake cookies they come out flat and I can barely taste the sugar but I tried this recipe and they come out smelling and tasting delicious the only thing I did differently was add a cup of flavored instant oats and a cup of quick oats it really helped bring out the flavor in the cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Oatmeal cookies must be chewy! Too much flour and not enough oatmeal, the texture is too thick and doesn't flatten out on the cookie sheets when cooked. I reduced the flour to 1 cup and used 3 cups of oatmeal and then they were much better. I also used dried cranberries because I can't get my family to eat a raisin. That worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
So bummed, wanted a nice chewy cookie and got a dry caky, tastless one. So disappointed, still looking for the chewy kind...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
They tasted ok, but were very cake-like and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Soft cookies. OK but prefer crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
These cookies were not very good! They puffed up in the middle, and were dry and brittle around the edges. They didn't have much taste. Maybe it would help to add the ingredients in a different order.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
These did not last very long around our house. It was impressive that they remained fresh tasting and crisp, even after a day or two. I used dried cranberries instead of raisins because I prefer them....and it's a nice holiday color. Carol Cyr
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
I'm not a fan of oatmeal cookies usually, but this turned out very well. I used chocochips instead of raisins, which might have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2000
It is important to mix all wet ingredents first. Then add dry slowly. Do not over work mix. Add a tad of salt or 1/2 tsp. more cinnamon for extra zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2000
I found these cookies to be fairly easy to make, although it seemed to have alot of ingredients. I did not think they were sweet enough. I would try using 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANNGORSKI

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States