Old Fashion Molasses Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Absolutely terrific! I cut the water way back...actually put in a 2-cup measuring cup: 1/4 cup molasses, 2 T. light margarine and then filled with water to the 1 1/4 cup mark...worked great in my Zo...a tall, soft loaf with a chewy crust...even several days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Excellent. I had to add about 1/2 to 3/4 cup more of flour. It also reminded me of the bread my grandmother used to make so I added raisins, green and red cherries and cut up glazed pineapple. It was absolutely deliscious. I also told my aunt and mother about it and my aunt went out and bought a breadmaker to make this bread. They both love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by China M
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I made this bread by hand instead of using a bread-maker. I had to add approximately 1 cup of additional flour while I was kneading it. The bread turned out to be quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Wow! Absolutely delisious! This bread baked up beautifully. A wonderful texture, color and flavor. Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This dough was the most beautiful dough ever to come out of my bread machine. I let it rise in the pan 30 minutes before baking. The bread was smooth and dense, but not too dense. Molasses flavor was a little more subtle than I would have liked, but I'd be afraid to monkey with the proportions, because the consistency was ideal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Personally did not like the flavor at all. If you like molasses maybe this bread is for you. It did have a good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Texture was nice, but bread was simply too bland for us. I'm sorry! =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justpeter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Yummy!!! I agree with the member who said it was one of the best things to come out of the bread machine. I did not bake in the machine, but in the oven. The texture was AMAZING!!! Soft and chewy....had to make a second loaf...the first was gone in a flash!!! Flavor was QUITE mild...if you are looking for a MOLASSES flavor, you may be dissappointed. We served it with a cream cheese spread for ginger snaps! It was AMAZING...will probably make another loaf today!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Dorado, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
Pretty good. I was busy last night, so I just put it on the bake cycle (I usually use the dough cycle and bake in the oven), and it cooked up well in the bread machine. Bf didn't like it that much--maybe the molasses flavor?--otherwise I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States