Old Fashion Molasses Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
Super yummy, very moist. Gave 4 stars simply because too large for bread machine & a bit crusty at bottom - next time I'll scale down to a 1 1/2 lb version. For the dough, I watched it and made sure it was moist during mixing to prevent a dry loaf. I used EVOO instead of butter (I do that for all bread recipes). I baked it in the machine without issue (except over rising, but not to the point of a mess). My family liked it, so this is a keeper. The molasses flavor is very subtle and that works for us. It's a bit crusty at the bottom of the loaf, so we may end up not eating the bottom crust. It's funny that I found this recipe today (Nov 2014) in my collection after printing it from this site in Jan 2007, but never made it. You can guarantee it will be made often since it's so simple & yummy in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This bread is so delicious, my whole family loves it. I make it with half white and half whole wheat or spelt flour. I usually need to add additional flour as it's mixing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raspberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Very nice bread. Great texture and nice taste. I used 1.5 cups of water instead of 1 and 5/8. Pretty close though. I also used cooking molasses for a stronger flavour and 2 tsp of bread yeast instead of active dry. I rose up huge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Looked a little iffy at first in the bread machine. I had to add almost another cup of flour to get it to gather into a ball. I had some pretty big lumps in it too so I unplugged the machine and put it through another dough cycle. Divided in half and let rise one hour in a double baguette pan. Baked up wonderful and tasted delicious! Phew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JShackleford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
awesome! everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Personally did not like the flavor at all. If you like molasses maybe this bread is for you. It did have a good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
This bread has very good texture and flavour. We really liked it. I did have to add flour to the mix as someone else suggested. I put a total of 4 3/4 cups flour, and the bread was great. I tried to bake the bread in my bread machine and it rose right up to the lid. Next time I will put it into a loaf pan, let it rise and then bake it, just as you are supposed to do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by China M
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
I made this bread by hand instead of using a bread-maker. I had to add approximately 1 cup of additional flour while I was kneading it. The bread turned out to be quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
Yummy!!! I agree with the member who said it was one of the best things to come out of the bread machine. I did not bake in the machine, but in the oven. The texture was AMAZING!!! Soft and chewy....had to make a second loaf...the first was gone in a flash!!! Flavor was QUITE mild...if you are looking for a MOLASSES flavor, you may be dissappointed. We served it with a cream cheese spread for ginger snaps! It was AMAZING...will probably make another loaf today!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Dorado, Kansas, USA
Living In: Hutchinson, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Absolutely terrific! I cut the water way back...actually put in a 2-cup measuring cup: 1/4 cup molasses, 2 T. light margarine and then filled with water to the 1 1/4 cup mark...worked great in my Zo...a tall, soft loaf with a chewy crust...even several days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States