Old English Cream Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
WOW! I am always a box of pudding mix away from a dessert and never have it on hand. The ingredients needed for this filling are always in my kitchen. I was in an experimental mood and scaled this recipe way down just so I could "taste" and fiddle around with this recipe. I am very glad I did. This basic vanilla pudding is just as tasty as the popular cook & serve boxed kind. Also, I spooned a small amount into a smaller dish and sprinkled a bit of Hershey's unsweetened cocoa into it. I kept adjusting until I found just the right color and taste, and BINGO: delicious chocolate pudding suitable as is or for a pie. I'm looking forward to adding a variety of different ingredients for a wider range of spectacular desserts! Thanks a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I changed my rating from a 2 star to a 5 star. At first it is really sweet the cream, but once it is 'aged' in the fridge for at least 2 - 3 days, it really does taste like the cream filling found in the Italian Bakery cakes. I was impressed. Mind you, I only discovered this cause I ended up with too much cream filling that I was using for a cake. Very impressed by discovery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
This recipe is so simple and has so many applications I can't say enough good about it and it's just delicious. I used it the first time in a trifle and it was fantastic but, my family wanted to lick the pudding bowl so now we make it as a simple homemade dessert, would never consider box pudding when this is just as easy and so much better tasting, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ELLEN666
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This pie filling is excellent so easy to make and tastes wonderful.I made the best banana cream pie with this and a coconut pie too and everyone loved them.And there was also enough left over to give to my 6 month old granddaughter as a vanilla pudding and she loved it.This is a great alround pie filling/pudding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLEN666

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croydon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Penge, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is DELICIOUS, I follow the cooking instructions exactly and it sets up perfectly with no lumps without fail. My favorite variation so far has been (for the 8 serving version) adding a square of semi-sweet bakers chocolate to the milk mixture and substituting peppermint extract for the vanilla extract at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This came out good except for a couple of my own mistakes. I should have simmered it a little longer once it was all together as it didn't set up quite a well as I would have liked it to. Also, I made a Chocolate Banana Pie with this recipe, and I don't think that the extra sugar is really necessary. It was very sweet as it was. Just my preference though. Very good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Absolutely perfect, I used it in a baked pie crust then used a can of fruit pie filling on top then covered in whip cream, yummy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Great filling for any cream pie you want to make! I have used the recipe many times. It is excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This pie filling/pudding is out of this world!!! I've made it a few times and everyone goes nuts over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This was one of the best bananna cream pies I have ever had!! I made it for my best friends birthday, it's her fav!! It was to die for!! Great job Janell:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETHART721

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pemberville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Haskins, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States