Old English Cream Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
WOW! I am always a box of pudding mix away from a dessert and never have it on hand. The ingredients needed for this filling are always in my kitchen. I was in an experimental mood and scaled this recipe way down just so I could "taste" and fiddle around with this recipe. I am very glad I did. This basic vanilla pudding is just as tasty as the popular cook & serve boxed kind. Also, I spooned a small amount into a smaller dish and sprinkled a bit of Hershey's unsweetened cocoa into it. I kept adjusting until I found just the right color and taste, and BINGO: delicious chocolate pudding suitable as is or for a pie. I'm looking forward to adding a variety of different ingredients for a wider range of spectacular desserts! Thanks a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I changed my rating from a 2 star to a 5 star. At first it is really sweet the cream, but once it is 'aged' in the fridge for at least 2 - 3 days, it really does taste like the cream filling found in the Italian Bakery cakes. I was impressed. Mind you, I only discovered this cause I ended up with too much cream filling that I was using for a cake. Very impressed by discovery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
This recipe is so simple and has so many applications I can't say enough good about it and it's just delicious. I used it the first time in a trifle and it was fantastic but, my family wanted to lick the pudding bowl so now we make it as a simple homemade dessert, would never consider box pudding when this is just as easy and so much better tasting, thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ELLEN666
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This pie filling is excellent so easy to make and tastes wonderful.I made the best banana cream pie with this and a coconut pie too and everyone loved them.And there was also enough left over to give to my 6 month old granddaughter as a vanilla pudding and she loved it.This is a great alround pie filling/pudding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELLEN666

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Croydon, Greater London, England, U.K.
Living In: Penge, Greater London, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This is DELICIOUS, I follow the cooking instructions exactly and it sets up perfectly with no lumps without fail. My favorite variation so far has been (for the 8 serving version) adding a square of semi-sweet bakers chocolate to the milk mixture and substituting peppermint extract for the vanilla extract at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This came out good except for a couple of my own mistakes. I should have simmered it a little longer once it was all together as it didn't set up quite a well as I would have liked it to. Also, I made a Chocolate Banana Pie with this recipe, and I don't think that the extra sugar is really necessary. It was very sweet as it was. Just my preference though. Very good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Absolutely perfect, I used it in a baked pie crust then used a can of fruit pie filling on top then covered in whip cream, yummy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2005
Great filling for any cream pie you want to make! I have used the recipe many times. It is excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This pie filling/pudding is out of this world!!! I've made it a few times and everyone goes nuts over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
This was one of the best bananna cream pies I have ever had!! I made it for my best friends birthday, it's her fav!! It was to die for!! Great job Janell:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Zeek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pemberville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Haskins, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States