Old English Cream Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I found this pie to be very slimy. All the cornstarch made for an awful texture. When the filling was still warm it was ok, but when it cooled it was a disgusting texture. It was also enough filling for 4 pies! It weighed so much my husband had to carry it! For people that like this recipe... I made it in a 13x9 pan which was bigger than 2 pie shells and worked out because I was out of pie plates. I also took some filling aside and added powdered cocoa to it and made it a chocolate swirl pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southwest, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This made two pies and still had some leftover. I made it for my husband's birthday and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
yum yum yum! This is an excellent recipe and easy to make too! It's great because it can be made a bit 'firmer' for a pie filling or softer for just some pudding. So tasty, smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Great flavour and consistency!!! I've tried original and chocolate versions - equally great! Just be careful not to overcook or it will be too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
It made SOOOOOOOO much custard! I was using it as a cake layer and had a TON of it left over. It also was just OK on its own... with cake or pastry, it is delicious. Maybe I'm just not a huge pudding fan. Would give it 3.5 stars, but can't on this rating system.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Absolutely perfect, I used it in a baked pie crust then used a can of fruit pie filling on top then covered in whip cream, yummy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This has to be one of the best recipes on allrecipes. I used this for a banana cream pie. It made enough for a 11x14 pan and I still had some left over! I was worried about it getting so thick as I cooked it, but I kept stirring for the 5 minutes per instruction and it was great. The second day was the best, next time I will make the pie a day before and let it set. SO AMAZING. It tasted like Marie Calendars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccermomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was quiet delicious! I made it with chocolate and it turned out awesome! Top notch recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Phenomenal recipe! Very easy to make with things that are usually in my kitchen. Great as a pie filling, equally great as a bowl of pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I changed my rating from a 2 star to a 5 star. At first it is really sweet the cream, but once it is 'aged' in the fridge for at least 2 - 3 days, it really does taste like the cream filling found in the Italian Bakery cakes. I was impressed. Mind you, I only discovered this cause I ended up with too much cream filling that I was using for a cake. Very impressed by discovery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States