Old English Cream Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This is so simple. I loved it. Don't need box pudding anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
I found this pie to be very slimy. All the cornstarch made for an awful texture. When the filling was still warm it was ok, but when it cooled it was a disgusting texture. It was also enough filling for 4 pies! It weighed so much my husband had to carry it! For people that like this recipe... I made it in a 13x9 pan which was bigger than 2 pie shells and worked out because I was out of pie plates. I also took some filling aside and added powdered cocoa to it and made it a chocolate swirl pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southwest, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This made two pies and still had some leftover. I made it for my husband's birthday and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2008
yum yum yum! This is an excellent recipe and easy to make too! It's great because it can be made a bit 'firmer' for a pie filling or softer for just some pudding. So tasty, smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
Great flavour and consistency!!! I've tried original and chocolate versions - equally great! Just be careful not to overcook or it will be too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
It made SOOOOOOOO much custard! I was using it as a cake layer and had a TON of it left over. It also was just OK on its own... with cake or pastry, it is delicious. Maybe I'm just not a huge pudding fan. Would give it 3.5 stars, but can't on this rating system.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Absolutely perfect, I used it in a baked pie crust then used a can of fruit pie filling on top then covered in whip cream, yummy..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This has to be one of the best recipes on allrecipes. I used this for a banana cream pie. It made enough for a 11x14 pan and I still had some left over! I was worried about it getting so thick as I cooked it, but I kept stirring for the 5 minutes per instruction and it was great. The second day was the best, next time I will make the pie a day before and let it set. SO AMAZING. It tasted like Marie Calendars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soccermomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was quiet delicious! I made it with chocolate and it turned out awesome! Top notch recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
Phenomenal recipe! Very easy to make with things that are usually in my kitchen. Great as a pie filling, equally great as a bowl of pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muskego, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Banana Cream Pie I

See how to make a creamy, 5-star pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States