Old English Cream Pie Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
Tried this recipe today after a failed attempt with another recipe yesterday and it came out great! It would be great for many types of pies, Especially coconut cream. I was only making one pie and fearing that it would end up like my previous recipe, I scaled this one down from 16 serving to 4, and it made MORE than enough for one pie, so even if you cut this in half, you'll have some left over (which isn't a bad thing because it is fantastic). I did change the process of cooking like a few others have noted to avoid lumps: -First mix milk, sugar, cornstarch & salt in pan first, then bring to boil. This will prevent lumps from forming. The cornstarch and sugar need to dissolve before heat is brought into the picture. -Then whisk eggs in a bowl, temper (this means to add some of the hot liquid to the eggs so they do not cook to fast when adding to the whole pan and you don't end up with scrambled eggs in your pie)with milk mixture. -Add in a steady stream to milk mixture and continue cooking for 5 minutes. -Remove from heat and add butter and vanilla. -Let cool before putting in pie crust, cover with plastic wrap (to avoid a film from forming over the top) and let set for a few hours or overnight in refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I was skeptical of making this as I have made many pastry or vanilla creams and this one seemed to simple-how could it be good, right? It is delicious! I will even use this in my pastry tarts. Look no further for a simple and delicious vanilla cream?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Watertown, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
I used this recipe instead of instant pudding for the Banana cream pie #3 recipe on this site. Exactly the amount needed and i even tried this recipe once with rice milk! It still worked out and tasted great, just a little clearer in color than with regular milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
The recipe was easy to follow, I followed it exactly. The taste was okay but I didn't really care for the texture. I was not alone in my opinion, 4 of the other five people who tried it agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Made this last night and my first thought was that the dry ingred would be lumpy when added. They were a little bit but I used a whisk and they all came out. I used choc chips to make mine chocolate because they melt so easily with no lumps. I did think the filling was a little starch tasting before I added the choc chips. I may decrease corn starch a little next time. Once the chips were added and the filling cooled, the starch taste seemed to go away. It set up so beautifully, I had enough for two pies plus 3 big servings of pudding. I used a graham cracker crust with a layer of peanut butter crumbles (conf sugar & peanut butter) on the bottom and on top. I am serving it tonight as other reviewers thought it was better the next day. I make pies every week, cream and fruit and this one so far is a keeper. Unless the entire thing falls apart when I cut it, it is one of the best cream pie recipes I have used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I needed a last minute pie filling for a family dinner, and this was easy to make and tasted fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
made a chocolate cream pie, looking smashing tasted better, so good, must try the other cream pies soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I thought that this pie filling tasted of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! I have just made it for Old Years Eve. I left out the white sugar and added a 1 tbs of brown because I added white chocolate to the mixture while boiling. A need to know fact... you have to stir the mixture very fast when adding the corn starch otherwise you will get lumps. I served the cream in waffle ice-cream cones with marshmallows, shaved Cadbury's milk chocolate and home made caramel (from condensed milk). Decadent! South Africans add cinamon and the pie is then called Meltert or Milk Tart
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I made recipe for just one pie. I used 2 yolks and because I was a little short on cornstarch I supplemented with powdered sugar and cut back slightly on granulated sugar. Not big differences. I altered the cooking method slightly as I have not had luck with adding boiling milk to egg mixtures so I mixed all and simmered slowly to thicken stirring constantly and added butter and vanilla at the end. The result is an amazing tasting sweet cream!! This is my new recipe for any cream pie/pudding. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Sour Cream Pear Pie

This sour cream-based fruit pie is a crowd-pleaser that’s anything but ordinary.

Glazed Apple Cream Pie

See how to make a double-crust cream pie topped with cinnamon-glazed apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States