Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
Oh. My. Word. I won't admit how fast the two of us went through the 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
The best Shrimp and grits we have ever had. The recipe is easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
This is amazing! So delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Very tasty, rich, & filling. I would recommend 2 changes: First, I simmer (perk) my grit for 30-40 minutes to make them as fluffy as possible. Undercooked, grainy grit are not southern style & not worth eating in my estimation...usually prepared by a yankee. Last, I would make half the amount of roux in the future or be prepared to add additional chicken stock. My wife doesn't ordinarily eat grits, but thoroughly enjoyed these w/ sharp cheddar, cooked to death. Smoked sausage works well too; don't like andouille
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
Delish!!! I omitted the sausage and green peppers and was one of the best things I've eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
I hosted a brunch. It was a hit.Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by David
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
What a great recipe, a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Amazing recipe. I did not have the sausage and it was still incredible. I have made the grits with regular milk and still great. Once I added leftover chicken to it as well. The secret is the roux. Get it nice and toasty brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was fantastic - served it to guests last night and they said it was just about the best thing I had ever cooked. Minor change - I just put the sausage in with the peppers without browning it since it was precooked, and I seared the shrimp separately so they would be crisp. I didn't bother with the sauce because I cooked the peppers really well and there didn't seem a need for more sauce. Great recipe - better than any shrimp and grits I've had at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOPRANO39

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This is definitely a keeper. We served to our "gourmet club" (a group of friends who have been enjoying good food together for 25 years) and it was a real hit. I didn't change anything about the ingredients and found it very flavorful as written. I did, however, rearrange the instructions to make for some ease in finishing it at the last minute. Bacon can be fried early in the day and then veggies sautéed in the bacon grease. Roux made ahead. Sausage browned and cooked veggies added--even the roux and broth, w sauce, can be added. All you need to do then is start your grits and add the shrimp to the sausage, veggie, bacon mixture until it cooks through. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States