Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This was too spicy for 6 year old, but hubs & I really liked it. Next time I'll just keep my child's portion away from the andouille sausage. I did not have any half & half, made the roux with out it, just used milk & chicken broth from a can. Didn't bother with the bacon because the sausage was plenty fatty. Next time I'd try harder to find a turkey andouille sausage, the Smithfield I used needed to be drained & set on paper towels. I used Quaker instant grits & used a lot less grated cheese. I used 3 pans to get this one done & it really didn't take too much time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Recipe was amazing! I have never made shrimp & grits before tonight. So impressed with myself! Yummy! Will definitely cook again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This is a great recipe, full of flavor. Although, I don't use chicken broth. I buy the shrimp with the heads on. Rinse shrimp. Then, I take the heads and shell of the shrimp and put it in about 6 cups of water, add celery, onion, 1 stick butter, and seafood seasoning. Allow this mix to boil for 2-5 minutes, then simmer. I would do this first before cooking grits. You would want to strain this shrimp liquid before you start the roux (butter-flour). Add the shrimp broth instead of chicken broth. The extra work is well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Natchez, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
OMG this was some good eating! This was my 1st time preparing or experiencing shrimp & grits so I had no idea what to expect. Followed all steps of this recipe as written (except I used 5 min quick grits) and it came out perfect! My finicky boyfriend gave this 2 thumbs up, he even called the next morning asking if I had leftovers! He was too late! I polished off the rest with white rice for breakfast! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Very good! I used chicken andouille sausage to cut fat but was still wonderful and husband did not even notice the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna Spletzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
This was amazing. Better than what you would get at a restaurant. Wouldn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pdmgeg
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Made recipe as stated and turned out delicious! Will definitely make again. Some of the best Shrimp and Grits I have ever had and I can't believe I made it myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
This was the very best! Easy to fix! Something I'll make again and share with others. Thanks for sharing it was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
We just had this for dinner... AMAZING! Thanks. I saved the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I love it the sauce was so good I had 3 helpings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States