Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This recipe turned out great!! Another reviewer stated to try the recipe as written before trying to make adjustments, and I'm so glad i did! The flavors were well balanced, nothing overpowering the other... Just great!!! You must try this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
Liked the pepper, sausage, onion shrimp mix....very flavorful but not too much heat for the kids. I subbed polenta for the grits because that's what I had. Kids & hubs did not care for the polenta, so next time I make this I would sub rice if I didn't have grits. Nice change of pace....I just like more texture to chew, so rice would work better for me. Definitely worth a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Absolutely amazing! Restaurant quality! My bf has been bugging me about making him shrimp and grits but I've kinda of been putting it off because I have no idea how to make shrimp and grits. I don't even eat shrimp!!! So how was I supposed to pull this off? Well this recipe was my secret weapon! OMG! This was AMAZING!!! He lite up like a Christmas tree! I made fire roasted corn (roasting in the oven for 8 mins with butter and cayenne pepper) and put that around the outside of the grits which was not only a nice decorative additive but delicious with the grits. I also made a side of sweet corn bread. I am now the QUEEN in my house because of this. I can't believe it came out this great on my first try. I will definitely cook this again for more people to impress them. :) Only thing I will do next time is prep everything first to cut down on time. This time I was reading the recipe and doing everything at the same time but it still came out FANTASTIC! Okay gotta go...its time for a second helping! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Made it EXACTLY as the recipe said and it was DELICIOUS!! Must definitely make again and turned a grit hater into a grit lover!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
This is the most delicious recipe for shrimp and grits I've ever tasted! I am a southerner by birth and wanted to introduce shrimp and grits to my Boston friends so I made this dish for them and there was not a speck of it left on their plates. None of them had eaten grits before and I saw the hesitancy in their eyes before tasting it but to my delight they were completely transformed. I just hope they don't expect every shrimp and grits recipe to be as good as this one. Many thanks to the creator of this gem of a dish! It is now in my "favorites" category in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
I was missing a few ingredients including bacon, but this was still delicious. I have tried many similar recipes, and this one is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Mccormick, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
This recipe was soooooo delicious! In fact, I made it less than a week ago and I am going to try it again this morning for a friend. The first time that I made it I ended up with leftovers and each time that I warmed it up, it was better than the first! I didn't stick exactly to the ingredients. I didn't use the andouille sausage because my store didn't have any and I used the Velveeta soft block cheese instead of the shredded cheese. The grits were perfectly cheesy and creamy. YUMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chazzi Julien

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly! I live in Charleston and this is better than any restaurant in town!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Yes! Better than any Shrimp & Grits we have ever tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My husband made this for Christmas dinner this year & it was to DIE FOR! His mom & dad & sister were in & really loved it!! He finished the meal with the Beignet recipe from this website & we are in heavan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momto3girls

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

Lowcountry Shrimp and Grits

See how to make shrimp and grits the Charleston way.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States